Bord Gáis Energy Unveiled as New Sponsor of the Ladies National Football League

Bord Gáis Energy Unveiled as New Sponsor
of the Ladies National Football League
Ladies Football signs three year deal with Bord Gáis Energy
Bord Gáis Energy was today unveiled as the new sponsor of the Ladies National Football League at the launch of the 2009 competition at Croke Park.

Bord Gáis Energy becomes the title sponsor of the competition, in which 32 counties compete across three divisions. Ladies football is the largest female participation sport in the country and Bord Gáis Energy is pleased to have signed a three year deal with the Ladies National Football League.

The Bord Gáis Energy Ladies National Football League was officially launched at a ceremony in Croke Park attended by Cumann Peil Gael na mBán President Geraldine Giles and Bord Gáis CEO John Mullins, along with players and representatives from the 32 competing counties.

Geraldine Giles, President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association, said, “We are delighted to welcome Bord Gáis Energy on board as title sponsor of one of the premium competitions in the ladies football calendar. Our partnership with Bord Gáis Energy will enable us to further develop our game at an inter-county level by providing top class competitive fixtures for all our county sides.”

Bord Gáis CEO, John Mullins, said, “We are delighted to be lending our support to such a prestigious competition as the Ladies National Football League. Ladies Football is one of the fastest growing sports in Ireland and Bord Gáis Energy is proud to fuel the passion for success that can inspire further participation and support competitive fixtures at a national level. Along with our existing sponsorship of the GAA Hurling U21 Championship competition, it is a sign of our ongoing commitment to investing in active participation in Gaelic games.”

Defending champions Cork enter 2009 as clear favourites for the Division 1 title having completed the national league and championship double in 2008. The Rebelettes will face Monaghan in Division 1b in a replay of last September’s All-Ireland Final in what is sure to be a highlight of the early rounds of the competition.

It is wide open in Division 1a with Armagh, Mayo and Tyrone all vying for places in the knock-out stages alongside last year’s beaten National League finalists Kerry.

In Division 2, newly crowned All-Ireland Intermediate champions, Tipperary will be one of the favourites for promotion to Division 1 while traditional strongholds such as Waterford and Meath will also be keen to reclaim their top flight status. Sligo, last year’s beaten Connaught finalists, should also figure strongly in what will be a highly competitive Division 2.

All-Ireland Junior finalists Derry will be targeting promotion from Division 3 this year and so too will Roscommon and Kilkenny.

A quarter-final stage has been reintroduced to the league format in 2009 ensuring the top four teams from each group qualify for the knock-out stages of the competition. The top seeded team in each group will face the lowest seeded team from the other side of the draw.

TG4 has confirmed that it will broadcast all three of the Bord Gáis Energy Ladies National Football League Finals live.

Division 1a Division 1b Division 2a Division 2b Division 3a Division 3b
Armagh Clare Leitrim Cavan Carlow Antrim
Donegal Cork Sligo Down Limerick Derry
Kerry Dublin Tipperary Fermanagh Louth Kilkenny
Laois Kildare Waterford Longford Offaly Wicklow
Mayo Galway Westmeath Meath Roscommon
Tyrone Monaghan Wexford

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs