Castleisland Take Ladies Title

Pat the Baker All Ireland Post Primary Senior B Final

Castleisland Take Ladies Title

St Joseph’s, Castleisland 3-10 Dean Maguirc College, Carrickmore 2-2

Two first half goals from corner forward Julie Ann Twomey paved the way for St Joseph’s, Castleisland to capture the Pat the Baker All Ireland Ladies Gaelic Football Post Primary Senior B Final when they defeated Dean Maguirc College, Carrickmore at Tuam Stadium.

Playing into the breeze in the opening half the Tyrone college rocked the Kerry side when Shauneen Ferrity raced inside the defence to score a goal that put Carrickmore ahead twelve minutes from the break. However Twomey finished a great move when set up by Stephanie Murphy and Cait Lynch, and three minutes later added a second goal, before Mary Herlihy watched her penalty effort saved, but St Joseph’s had a 2-4 to 1-2 half time lead.

Substitute Shielleagh Wrenn scored 1-1 within five minutes of the restart and when Aoife Lyons and Murphy added points, the Kerry side had stretched their lead further. However a goal from Sinead Murphy gave Dean Maguirc College a lifeline, but when Aoife McGoune blazed a penalty wide it left the Tyrone side too far adrift to make a comeback.

Scorers: St Joseph’s: J A Twomey (2-1); S Wrenn (1-1); M Herlihy (0-4); S Murphy (0-3); A Lyons (0-1). Dean Maguirc: S Murphy (1-1); S Ferrity (1-0); J Corcoran (0-1).

St Joseph’s: A M Wrenn; S Lenihan, D McLoughlin, N McEllistrim; C A Myers, E Twomey, H O’Connor; A Lyons, A Leonard; C Lynch, M Herlihy, U Kerins; JA Twomey, S Murphy, E O’Connor.
Subs: S Wrenne for Lenihan, M Conroy for McEllistrim; M Browne for Twomey; A Bergin for O’Connor.

Dean Maguirc: B Grimes; E Donaghy, K Kelly, S McAleer; A Traenor, C Munroe, L Corcoran; A McGuone, S McCann; M Ni Cheara, S Ferrity, A McCullagh; A Fox, J Corcoran, S Murphy.
Subs: U McGee for Donaghy; A Meenagh for McCullagh.
Referee: D Corcoran (Mayo).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs