2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Clare Make Comeback to be Crowned Minor B Champions

All-Ireland Ladies Minor B Football Championship Final


CLARE 4-16



By Jackie Cahill at St Brendan’s Park, Birr.


CLARE came from seven points down to claim victory in an enthralling All-Ireland ladies minor B football final against Roscommon at St Brendan’s Park, Birr, on Monday afternoon.

The Banner County captured a first All-Ireland minor crown since 1990 following a goal-fest at the Offaly venue.

The sides shared six goals in the second half but when the dust settled, Clare had claimed an eight-point win.

And they had to do it the hard way, having fallen 0-8 to 2-9 adrift early in the second half.

Roscommon looked on course for a first All-Ireland B title since 2009 when Orla O’Neill netted in the 36th minute.

But Clare’s response was immediate as Orla Devitt hit back with a goal for the Munster outfit within a minute.

And Clare moved two points clear – 2-12 to 2-10 – eight minutes from time when player of the match Niki Kaiser scored a stunning individual goal to seal a magnificent comeback.

Midfielder Laura Egan scored Clare’s third goal in the final minute of normal time but there was still time for more drama as referee Des McEnery added on seven and a half minutes of stoppage time.

Roscommon’s third goal was scored by O’Neill in the fifth minute of injury time before full-forward Aoife O’Gorman hit Clare’s fourth.

Roscommon were 1-8 to 0-7 clear at half-time, following a first half that was level six times.

Full-forward Caoilionn Beirne scored the 24th minute goal and in a remarkably free-flowing game, the real surprise was that just seven goals were scored.

Roscommon goalkeeper Rachel Timothy pulled off some excellent saves while opposite number Aoife O’Neill was also in good form.


Scorers for Clare: N Kaiser 1-3, A O’Gorman 1-2, O Devitt 1-1, L Egan 1-0, R Howley 0-3, E O’Gorman 0-2, A Torpey 0-2f, R Looney, S O’Brien & K McCormack 0-1 each.


Scorers for Roscommon: C Beirne 1-5 (0-5f), O O’Neill 2-0, K Dunning 0-4, G Dufficy & A Hanley 0-1 each.


CLARE: A O’Neill; R Rouine, E McMahon, R Culligan; E Hillery, S Harvey, E O’Gorman; R Looney L Egan; K McCormack, R Howley, N Kaiser; A Torpey, A O’Gorman, O Devitt.


Subs: A O’Brien for Harvey, S O’Brien for Torpey.


ROSCOMMON: R Timothy; R Coyle, C Brennan, A Jones; A McAuliffe, B McHugh, L Fleming; Y Lennon, C O’Murchadha-Flynn; O O’Neill, G Dufficy, C Gunning; K Roddy, C Beirne, K Dunning.


Subs: D Bruen for Gunning, A Hanley for Dufficy, Gunning for O’Murchadha-Flynn, R Burke for Jones.


Referee: D McEnery (Westmeath).



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs