2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets


Errigal Ciaran 3-5
St Macartan’s 2-7

St Macartans pushed Errigal Ciaran all the way at Ballinamullan on Saturday as they attempted to retain the Patrick Fahy Solicitors Tyrone Ladies senior football title but despite two late late goals Errigal held on to claim a first title since 2012 , albeit by the narrowest of margins. The Macartan’s had a raft of chances, four wides on the bounce in a three minute first half spell while Errigal keeper Grainne McAnenly was on hand a couple of times to deny goals, they did though come up against a well organised Errigal who had a game plan and stuck to it.

The new champions put players behind the ball throughout with the quality of their forwards always a threat at the other end. Errigal led 1-4 to 0-4 at the break, Lycrecia Quinn finding the net with Joiline Donnelly 0-3 and young Chloe McCaffery pointing for the Macs.
Shannon Monaghan’s goal just after the restart built a massive head of steam for Errigal although St Macartan’s turned up the heat and enjoyed most of the second half possession as they closed the gap to four and threw everything at Errigal.
The Dunmoyle side created a couple of goal chances and when Aine Canavan was upended and Maria Canavan hit the net from the resultant penalty it looked all over with injury time beckoning. Seven points the gap and even when Selina Oguz missed from close range Errigal still looked home and hosed but there was a mammoth twist, McCaffrey rolled the ball to the net after McAnenly failed to hold on to a high ball and at the death Paula Donnelly dropped her effort to the net to leave a point between them.
Time was up though with the one point win for Errigal, a hugely entertaining game that saw both enjoy periods of dominance and both create chances, the ability of Errigal to take scores was crucial as the Macartan’s will rue nine wides and those missed opportunities.

Errigal Ciaran Scorers: Lycrecia Quinn 1-2, Maria Canavan 1-2, Shannon Monaghan 1-0, Shannon Quinn 0-1


St Macartan’s Scorers: Joline Donnelly 0-5, Chloe McCaffery 1-1, Paula Donnelly 1-0, Cathy Donnelly 0-1


Errigal Ciaran: Grainne McAnenly, Julia Mallon, Niamh Kelly, Carrie Monaghan, Claire Canavan, Kelly Marie McRory, Cailin McCann, Shannon Quinn, Geardine McGinley, Aine Canavan, Lycrecia Quinn, Emma Tierney, Shannon Monaghan, Maria Canavan, Meabh Corrigan. Subs Ailise Gormley for McRory Blood sub. Selina Oguz for Corrigan.

St Macartans: Niamh McKenna, Dierdre McCarroll, Slaine McCarroll, Shannon McQuaid, Lynda Donnelly, Maria Donnelly, Niamh McGirr, Maura McMenamin, Colleen McQuaid, Shauna McQuaid, Paula Donnelly, Shauna McGirr, Joline Donnelly, Chloe McCaffery, Cathy Donnelly. Subs Marie Treanor for D McCarroll

Referee Kevin Bogle Urney


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs