2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Great end to a memorable year for Mourneabbey

Great end to a memorable Year for Mourneabbey. By Fr Liam Kelleher.

Mourneabbey 4-18  Erins Own 2-5

Co Munster and All-Ireland Champions, Co Under 21 Champions and now Minor Champions that’s the incredible record of Mourneabbey Ladies for 2007. Their most recent success in a comprehensive Minor win over a disappointing Erins Own outfit must have been one of their easiest. The game was played in good conditions at Rathcormac. Erins Own Co Under 16 champions came into this game with impressive credentials on the back of a huge win over Inch Rovers in the Semi-final had no answer to the skill, speed and fitness and overall team work of the North Cork girls. Boasting 10 of the  All-Ireland winning starting line up and 8 of the Cork All-Ireland minor winning panel Mourneabby got into the game from the off and had the game well and truly wrapped up by the short whistle. Playing with the slight wind they were driven forward by an irrepressible Ciara O’Sullivan who with great support  from her sister Ciara supplied the forwards with quality ball and they did the rest amassing a huge total of 2-12 Chief Erins  Own tormentor was Kathleen O’Brien who finished the half with a personal tally of 1-8, Brid O’Sullivan chipped in with 1-1 Laura Harrington 0-2 and Ciara O’Sullivan. 0-1

Mourneabbey – Minor champions 2007

Well marshalled.

The Mourneabbey defence well marshalled by capt Kathyrn Coakley were dominant throughout that opening half, with just one lapse allowing in Aisling Wall for a goal, their only score of the half. There was no let up  from Moureneabbey and they continued to dominate the 2nd half. Kathleen O’Brien added 4 more points. Roisin O’Sullivan contributed 1-2, Ciara Harrington came forward to contribute a goal pushing their total to 4-18.  To their credit Erin’s Own kept trying and the last 10 minutes belonged to them as they battled bravely to reduce the huge deficit. Marissa O’Callaghan contributed 1-2 Emily O’Callaghan 1-1 while Niamh O’Keefe and  Amy O’Riordan contributed a point each to advance their score to 3-5 and that put a better reflection on the scoreboard.

Kathyrn Coakley Capt receives the Cork Co Minor cup from Fr Liam Kelleher Co PRO after Mourneabbey had defeated Erins Own in the final.
Kathleen O’Brien who scored 1-12 for Mourneabby in  their Minor Co final win

Mourneabbey. Emma Forde, Rebecca Larkin, Eimear Harrington, Sandra Conroy, Trisha Murphy, Kathyrn Coakley capt. Ciara Harrington, Roisin O’Sullivan,  Ciara O’Sullivan, Brid O’Sullivan, Laura Harrington, Leona Behan,  Paula Stack, Kathleen O’Brien, Niamh O’Regan. Aoife Daly, Sinead Coakley, Doireann O’Sullivan, Marie O’Callaghan, Roberta Harrington, Grainne Twomey.

Erins Own. Fiona Smiddy, Emma Coughlan, Amy O’Riordan, Ciara Murphy, Catriona Keohane,  Allison Barry, Lea O’Halloran, Caoimhe O’Callaghan, Sarah Oppermann, Lisa Dennehy, Marissa O’Callaghan Aisling Wall, Dianne O’Regan, Niamh O’Keefe,

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs