Hat trick for AGB in Wicklow U-14 Championship

AGB complete hat trick of Wicklow U-14 Titles


U/14 championship final 2007

Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney 6-11 Coolkenno 2-1.

Arklow GeraldinesBallymoney U/14 ladies completed their hat trick
of championship titles at under fourteen level when they defeated
Coolkenno on Sunday last in Shillelagh. In their last encounter
only a single point separated the sides in Coolkenno’s favour,
so this was billed to be a close competitive game, but it was
Arklows sharpness and hunger at every position on the pitch that
was the difference on the day, Coolkenno pulled out all the stops
but were unable to put the brakes on a free wheeling Arklow side
that were not interested in second place. Within twelve minutes
the Gers were 3-3 up without reply, with scores from Erinne Murphy,
Aine O’Reilly, Aife Kavanagh, and Danielle Brauders. Coolkenno
tagged on their first goal in the sixteenth minute, their number
fourteen Mickaela Flynn hitting the back of the Arklow net. This
Blip never registered with the Arklow side as they continued to
notch up scores from Aine O’Reilly and Jesse McElheron to bring
the half to an end with the score board reading Arklow Gers/Ballymoney
4-4 Coolkenno 1-0. Although the Coolkenno girls never gave up,
and in fairness they battled hard through out, they were always
on the back foot and unable to get a foot hold in the game, while
the Arklow side continued to keep up the relentless work rate
piling on the pressure on Coolkenno’s back line, that resulted
in their score line being boosted by a further two goals and seven
points in the second half, to ensure that the Arklow side ran
out comfortable winners at full time (6-11 to 2-1).

Arklow’s number thirteen Erinne Murphy proved to be lucky for
seaside town, and unlucky for the Coolkenno side, as she fired
the ball past Amy Bermingham to raise the green flag after the
minute hand had only completed a second lap of the clock, but
that clinical strike was on the rebound as Coolkenno mounted the
first attack however they were unable to convert their early efforts.
The battle of the game was between Arklow’s top scorer Aife Kavanagh
and her U/14 county team mate Ciara Callanan, both girls tested
the quality of each others jersey on more than one occassion as
both players battled for possession through out the game and while
Callanan kept Kavanagh’s personal tally to two goals and one point
from play, the Arklow forward turned play maker making decisive
pass’s to her hard working forward line of Aine O’Reilly, Erinne
Murphy, Jesse McElheron, and Dannielle Brauders who all converted,
Brauders latched on to a quick free from Lucia O’Grady to score
a classy goal with the out side of her right boot that nestled
in the left hand corner of Amy Berminghams net. Coolkenno’s midfielders
Laura Howard, Suzanne O’Neill and Elaine Keogh stuck to their
task against Arklows Naomi Roche, Calvin Swarte, Shauna Fleming
who were being marshalled by their captain Sam Kelly.

Arklows Jesse McElheron was on target with a point within seconds
of the restart, but the determined Coolkenno side responded with
a well struck goal from Shannon Lok, Loks shot from an impossible
angle out on left slipped in between the Arklow keeper and her
left hand up right. Once again the tremor did not register on
the Arklow rictor scale as they continue about their job of retaining
the U/14 trophy for the third year in succession. The Arklow Defence
, who are probably one of the meanest in the County, gave very
little away in this game, especially in the final quarter when
Coolkenno threw every thing at them, but the Arklow girls rejected
all attempts by the Coolkenno forward line of Ciara Thomkins,
Shannon Lok, Chelsea Kelly, Mikaela Flynn, and Rebecca Bowes pressed
hard to breach Arklows defensive wall on this occasion. Arklow
added a further two goals and seven points to Coolkenno’s single
point in the second half to run out comfortable winners when Referee
Maura Reid called for the ball.

Arklow captain Sam Kelly received the trophy from County board
representative Maura Reid, Maura praised both team for a sporting
game, and wished them every success next season. Log on to arklowgaa.ie
for more details.

Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney: Rebecca Condren, Melissa Keane,
Hanna Kavanagh, Nicole Kavanagh, Calvin Swarte, Naomi Roach, Kayleigh,
Sam Kelly (Capt), Shauna Fleming, Dannielle Brauders, Jesse McElheron
(0-2), Lucia O’Grady, Erinne Murphy(1-2), Aife Kavanagh (2-4(3f),
Aine O’Reilly (1-1), Kayleigh Crammond (1-2). Subs: Amy Devereux
for Rebecca Condren, Jessica Hurley for Calvin Swarte, Michelle
Forde for Aine O’Reilly, Georgina Canavan for Danielle Brauders,
Katie Kindlar for Erinne Murphy.

Coolkenno: Amy Bermingham, Laura Behan, Ciara Callanan, Aine Byrne,
Catheriona Doyle, Danielle Callanan, C.K Smith, Laura Howard,
Suzanne O’Neill, Elaine Keogh, Ciara Thomkins(0-1), Shannon Lok
(1-0), Chelsea Kelly, Mikaela Flynn, Rebecca Bowes. Subs: Marice
Rossiter for Aine Byrne, Jo Doyle, Anna Nolan, Shauna Bermingham,
Rachel Donohue.

Referee: Maura Reid (Blessington).


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs