2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Kerry’s Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh named as 2023 TG4 Senior Players’ Player of the Year

Kerry’s Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh named as 2023 TG4 Senior Players’ Player of the Year


  • Intermediate honour for Kildare’s Róisín Byrne, as Down’s Natasha Ferris claims Junior award

KERRY star Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh was named as the 2023 TG4 Senior Players’ Player of the Year at the annual TG4 All Star banquet, in association with Lidl, at The Bonnington Dublin Hotel on Saturday night.

The coveted individual accolade capped a memorable night for the 32-year-old Corca Dhuibhne player, who also collected a fourth TG4 All Star award, to add to her previous successes in 2012, 2013 and 2022.

Ní Mhuircheartaigh finished as leading scorer in the 2023 TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship with a haul of 3-31, including 1-7 in the Final against Dublin on Sunday August 13.

For the Senior Players’ Player of the Year award, Ní Mhuircheartaigh held off stiff competition from Dublin duo Leah Caffrey and Jennifer Dunne to win the award which was voted on by fellow inter-county players.

The 2023 TG4 Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year award, meanwhile, went to Kildare forward Róisín Byrne.

From the Sarsfields club, Byrne scored 0-25 for the Lilywhites as they stormed to TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate glory, including seven points in a Final Player of the Match performance against Clare.

Byrne, who was also nominated for a TG4 All Star award, landed the Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year award ahead of Clare’s Fidelma Marrinan and Antrim’s Órlaith Prenter.

All three nominees were recently named on the 2023 TG4 Intermediate Team of the Championship, while Marrinan was also a TG4 All Star nominee.

And there was further glory for Down following their TG4 All-Ireland Junior Championship success as brilliant forward Natasha Ferris was named Junior Players’ Player of the Year.

Ferris, from the Bryansford club, finished her season as top scorer in the Junior grade with an astonishing tally of 7-31, including five points in the TG4 All-Ireland Final victory over Limerick.

Ferris was nominated for the Junior award alongside Limerick captain Róisín Ambrose and Fermanagh’s Bláithín Bogue, who was the 2022 recipient.

Earlier in the evening, Dublin and Thomas Davis legend Christina McGinty was officially inducted into the LGFA Hall of Fame.

McGinty was a 1989 All-Ireland Junior Championship winner with Dublin and also had the distinction of playing in All-Ireland Junior, Intermediate and Senior Club Finals during an outstanding career.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs