2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Kilglass qualify for Connacht Junior Semi Finals

Kilglass qualify for Junior semi finals


Ladies Connacht Junior Club First Round

Kilglass Gaels (Roscommon) 4 – 8 Coolera (Sligo) 0 – 9

Roscommon Junior Champions Kilglass Gaels proved to be to strong
for Sligo Junior winners Coolera on Saturday night in Tourlestrane.
Played in wind and rain and under lights the winners had 1 – 3 on
the scoreboard in the opening 6 minutes. An effort from a free by
Natalie Mc Hugh in the second minute ended up in the Coolers net.
The same player provided the opening point after only a matter of
seconds as midfielder Louise Tully won the throw in and placed Mc
Hugh who promptly hit the target.

Siobhan Melvin registered Coolera’s opening score in the 8th minute
after she was set up by Kathy Keaney. A full ten minutes was to
pass before the next score would arrive, once again to the winners
through Aoife McGuire. Karen Maloney fired over two points before
the break to narrow the gap back down to four points. The score
line could have been worse had Donna Barry in the Coolera goals
not made a point blank save from Nicola Tully on the stroke of half

At the start of the second half Coolera piled on the pressure but
they were unable to make any inroads on the scoreboard. From what
was their first attack in the second half Nicola Tully pointed to
push Kilglass Gaels ahead by more. Points by Natalie Mc Hugh and
Louise Tully extended their lead even further by the 15th minute.

In the final quarter the winners stepped on the gas outscoring their
opponents by 3 – 1 to 0 – 5 to qualify to play the Junior Champions
from Galway in the semi final. On a wet and miserable night Kilglass
Gaels had fine performers in Emer Walsh at Full Back, Rachel Corcoran
in the half back line, Louise Tully un the middle of the park while
upfront Natalie Mc Hugh and Nicola Tully caused problems for the
Coolera defence. Amy Gerrity, Ruth Goodwin, Siobhan Melvin and Karen
Maloney tried hard for Coolera.

Kilglass Gaels: Majella Cox, Mairead Cox, Emer Walsh, Aisling Lennon,
Rachel Corcoran, Emma Compton, Sinead Flynn, Louise Tully, Linda
Corcoran, Natalie Mc Hugh, Rita Hagan, Katie Nugent, Aoife Mc Guire,
Nicola Tully, Antoinette McCormack.

Coolera: Donna Barry, Claire Pugh, Amy Gerrity, Emily Rooney, Mary
Melvin, Roisin Devaney, Laura-Ann Laffey, Jennifer Norman, Ruth
Goodwin, Siobhan Melvin, Kathy Keaney, Karen Maloney, Ciara Molloy,
Celestine Cawley, Colleen Cavanagh. Subs Used: Joanne Burke, Emer
Ruane & Caoimhe Neary.

Referee: Ann Regan (Mayo)



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs