2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Ladies Football round up

Ladies Football round up


By Jackie Cahill

A first half goal blitz paved the way for Cork’s victory in Saturday’s TG4 Munster Ladies senior football championship final, as the Leesiders collected a seventh successive provincial crown.

Cork, looking for a sixth TG4 All-Ireland crown, ran out 5-13 to 2-9 winners against Clare at Castletownroche.

At half-time, Cork led the outclassed Banner County by 5-8 to 1-6 and the game was effectively over as a contest.

Lethal corner forward Valerie Mulcahy scored a remarkable 4-4 in the first half alone while Nollaig Cleary raised the other green flag for the champions before half-time.

Cork, who have already captured the National League crown this year, laid down a real marker with this comprehensive display but Clare produced a gusty display and held the winners to just five second half points.

Niamh O’Dea finished as top scorer for Clare with five points, while Áine Kelly and Louise Henchy, from a penalty, plundered goals for last year’s TG4 All-Ireland intermediate champions.

Clare failed to capitalise on the the sin-binning of Cork centre forward Ciara O’Sullivan in the 38th minute as the all-conquering Rebelettes were best served by player of the match Mulcahy, inspirational midfielder Juliet Murphy and defender Geraldine O’Flynn.

Meanwhile, Waterford retained their TG4 Munster intermediate title with a hard-fought 2-12 to 1-11 victory against Limerick at Castletownroche on Saturday.

Waterford appeared on course for a healthy half-time lead but a remarkable run of scores from Dymphna O’Brien, and another point from Joanne O’Gorman, left just the bare minimum between the sides at the break.

O’Brien’s 38th minute score levelled the match but the introduction of subs Michelle McGrath and Niamh Briggs early in the second half turned the game firmly in favour of the Déise.

Ballymacabry player McGrath dominated midfield for the remainder of the game and scored one of Waterford’s two second half goals, with top scorer Briggs also on target.

Republic of Ireland soccer international Marie Claire Curtin scored a late penalty for Limerick while the lethal O’Brien was unlucky to finish on the losing side after notching a total of eight points from play.

Waterford forward Linda Wall claimed the player of the match award on the back of an outstanding display for the winners.



Scorers for Cork: V Mulcahy 4-4 (1-3f), N Cleary 1-2, A Walsh and M O’Connor 0-2 each, J Murphy 0-1f, C O’Sullivan and L McMahon 0-1 each.


Scorers for Clare: N O’Dea 0-5 (0-2f), A Kelly 1-1, N Keane 0-2, L Henchy 1-0 (pen), F Lafferty 0-1.



Scorers for Waterford: N Briggs 1-2, M Ryan 0-4 (2f), M McGrath (1-0), S Ryan 0-3 (2f), E Power, T Fitzgerald & A Wall 0-1 each.


Scorers for Limerick: D O’Brien 0-9 (1f), M.C. Curtin 1-0 (pen), J O’Gorman & E Enright 0-1 each.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs