2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Leinster U12 Blitz

May bank holiday is U/12 blitz day in the Leinster Council diary, and Monday the 2nd 2011 was no different, the weather on the day, and the facilities at both venue’s were perfect for this carnival of football, with twelve teams taking part on the day in the Carlow Town hurling club. Teams came from Offaly, Longford, Kildare (3 teams), Wexford (3 teams), Carlow, Meath (2 teams) and Kilkenny. The teams brought great colour and excitement to the occasion and the level of football on display was very impressive.

The first game of the day in Division one was on pitch one, between Meath and Kildare, with both sides tagging on four points apiece to finish the game level. Offaly and Wexford went head to head in the second game, but the Model county were too strong on this occasion, after a short break the Offaly team were back in action against a strong Meath side, the Royals running out comfortable winners. At 12.35 Wexford and Kildare put on a great game, with Wexford collecting all three points to register their second win in division one of the competition.

With two games remaining it looked as though Meath and Wexford would compete for the division one crown, and true to form both Counties played out at thriller in the final, with the Royal County claiming the top spot with four points to spare 0-07 to 1-00. Leinster ladies football President Sean McMullin presented Meath Captain Megan Peppard with the Div. 1 trophy.

In Division two, Cill Dara, Longford, Meath B and Loch Gorman were all in contention at the start of the day, but it was Meath ( B ) and Wexford (Loch Gorman) that contested the final, and once again the Royals were the victors by the narrowest of margins 0-5 to 1-01. Leinster ladies football President Sean McMullin presented Meath Captain Ailbhe Leahy with the Div. 2 trophy.

Last but not least, four teams competed for the division three title, the games were played in O’Hanrahans GAA grounds. Carlow and the Lilywhites were first in to action, with Carlow collecting all three points. In round two, Kilkenny had three point to spare over the Purple and Gold side from Wexford.

As the rounds progressed it looked as though Carlow and Kilkenny would be the main contenders for the division three crown. Both Counties took to the field at 3pm, and at the end of normal time the sides were level, Carlow with1-03 and Kilkenny raising the green flag on two occasions. Unfortunately, both teams mentors had the daunting task of selecting players to contest a shot out. Carlow failed to convert their first effort with Ciara Delaney calmly slotting over for Kilkenny to put her side in the driving seat. A Carlow miss gave Saoirse Comerford the chance to seize the win and as her shot sailed between the posts a loud cheer erupted from parents and players as Kilkenny were crowned Division 3 champions after a superb day’s football. Leinster ladies football President Sean McMullin presented Kilkenny Captain Aobha O’Gorman with the Div. 3 trophy. Sean went on to thank all those who had turned on the day to make the event such a great success, he also thanked the referee’s and the Carlow hurling club and the O’Hanrahans GAA club for the use of their excellent facilities. (Michael Forde Leinster PRO).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs