2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Match Report from the U14 'B' All Ireland Championship Final Cavan v Waterford

Waterford edged out Cavan in the All-Ireland U14B Championship final. Playing into a strong breeze, it was the Waterford girls who started stronger with points from Katie Murray and Emma Power. Cavan drew level with points from Leanne Kiernan and Laura Keogan but the Waterford lead was soon restored when Katie Murray broke through the Cavan defence to find the net.












Waterford soon had a chance to extend their lead when the referee adjudged the tackle on Waterford’s Aoife Murray to be unfair and immediately awarded a penalty. Team Captain Ciara Hurley opted to take her point to put four between the teams halfway through the first half.  Cavan suddenly came to life and a well finished goal from Geraldine Smith and a second point from Leanne Kiernan drew the sides’ level at half time on a score line of Cavan 1-03 Waterford 1-03


The Cavan girls started the second half where they finished of the first with Laura Keogan’s point putting her team ahead for the first time in the match. However, with the breeze now firmly at their backs, the Waterford girls took control of the game scoring four unanswered points with a brace from Ciara Curley and one each from Caragh McCarthy and Emma Power.

Cavan searched deep for a response and saw two attempts at goal going narrowly passed the upright and could only manage a single point from Geraldine Smith to leave the final score Waterford 1-07 Cavan 1-05.

Cavan Team:

1 Amy Wharton Cornafean
2 Eilish O’Reilly Ballymachugh
3 Gemma McLoughlin Shannon Gaels
4 Ciara Dent Killinkere
5 Caoimhe O’Reilly Ballymachugh
6 Shannon Pierson Gowna
7 Eimear Kelly Ballymachugh
8 Catherine Dolan © Lurgan
9 Katie Fitzpatrick Belturbet
10 Andrea O’Reilly Bailieboro
11 Keely Doonan Templeport
12 Geraldine Smith Killygarry
13 Leanne Kiernan Bailieboro
14 Keogan Laura Lurgan
15 Courtney Renihan Bailieboro
16 Ailisa McEnroe Castlerahan/Denn
17 Ciara Fitzpatrick Drumlane
18  Rachel Brady Killeshandra
19 Rebecca O’Reilly Bailieboro
20 Ciara Maguire Drumlane
21 Tara Clarke Shercock
22 Ciara Gaffney Lurgan
23 Raminta Luaskeviciute Lurgan
24 Aoife McGorry Drumgoon
25 Jenna McConnell Killygarry
26 Emily Daly Bailieboro
27 TaraDenning Killinkere
28 Shauna Coyle Ballymachugh
29 Ashleigh McCabe Killinkere
30 Leah Gregory Bailieboro


Waterford Team:


1 Caoimhe Veale Dungarvan
2 Rebecca Casey Stradbally
3 Niamh Power Stradbally
4 Edwina Curran Tramore
5 Laura Casey Ballyduff
6 Megan Dunford Abbeyside
7 Emma Murray Comeragh Rangers
8 Sinead Flynn St Pats
9 Kate McGrath Brickey Rangers
10 Emma Power Ballysaggart
11 Ciara Hurley Dungarvan
12 Denise O’Connor Tramore
13 Laura Cusack Stradbally
14 Aoife Murray Comeragh Rangers
15 Katie Murray Comeragh Rangers
16 Catherine Murray Dungarvan
17 Carrie O’Keefe Roamore
18 Caragh McCarthy Abbeyside
19 Katie Duggan Sullivan Dungarvan
20 Roisin Curran Stradbally
21 Kelly Tutty Dungarvan
22 Grace Heffernan Stradbally
23 Kaiesha Tobin Dungarvan
24 Hannah Power St Pats
25 Sarah Landers Ballysaggart
26 Liaden Dunlea Ballyduff
27 Chloe Fennell Stradbally
28 Clodagh Curran Dungarvan
29 Sharon Williams Ballysaggart
30 Jessica Fahey Old Parrish
31 Amy Fraher St Pats


Cavan: Geraldine Smith 1-01, Leanne Kiernan 0-02, Laura Keogan 0-02

Waterford: Emma Power 0-02, Ciara Hurley 0-03, Caragh McCarthy 0-01, Katie Murray 1-02

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs