Meath League Finalists Confirmed

Meath Ladies Fixtures 2016 – Finalists Confirmed!

St. Ultans sailed into the Division One League Final on Sunday morning with a 7-11 to 2-10 dismantling of Simonstown. Katie O’Brien top scored for the Ultans with a total tally of 3-04. Elaine Duffy hit 1-04 for the winners while there were also goals for Megan Buchanan, Niamh Rispin and Aoife Martin. The 2016 Final is a repeat of the 2015 Final with Dunboyne also qualifying for the decider. Weather permitting the game will be the climax of the busiest weekend Meath Ladies have had to date – with 5pm on Sunday evening in Páirc Tailteann set for the final. Seneschalstown avoided the drop to Division Two with a nail biting 3-16 to 1-14 win over Dunboyne in Fr. Tully Park. Seneschalstown led by six points at the break, 2-10 to 1-07, and a tight tussle in the second half ended with a five point win for the home side. Ruth Commons, Kelly Smith and Nina Murphy got the goals while they had super performances from Aisling Taaffe, Adele Carolan and Eimear O’Carroll. In Dunshaughlin, a 1-05 second half haul for Susan Kealey helped Boardsmill to a 2-16 to 0-11 win over hosts Royal Gaels. It was a two point game at half time with the home side 0-09 to 1-04 up, County Senior footballer Niamh Gallogly hitting five first half points. Emma Troy hit 1-01 for the Mill who needed a big second half performance. Half time substitute Katie Hackett provided the impetus for the away side and with Kealey and Paula Dorian (0-03) scoring the result went in Boardsmill’s favour, finishing 2-16 to 0-11. Dee Rangers finished their league with a win as they saw off the challenge of Oldcastle on a 2-07 to 0-11 scoreline. The home side were seven points in arrears at half time, 0-02 to 0-09, but came out all guns firing in the second half. A Kelly Farrelly penalty ignited the Rangers and they didn’t look back. Aoife Conlon grabbed goal number two while Sarah O’Reilly was top scorer for Oldcastle as she hit seven points. Unfortunately it wasn’t enough for the North Meath team who will play Division Two football in 2017.

In Division Two, after five wins and one walk over, Donaghmore Ashbourne have qualified for the league final and secured promotion to division one for the 2017 season, where they will face Summerhill. The ‘Hill were convincing winners over Ratoath on Sunday evening, winning on a 5-09 to 0-10 scoreline. St. Michaels overcome a tough Na Fianna challenge during the week to give them every chance of making the final as they finish the league with a respectable 17 points but alas it wasn’t to be, Summerhill’s head to head win over the Carlanstown/Kilbeg side earlier in the league enough to put them through to the League Final on Sunday evening in Pairc Tailteann at 3pm. Moynalvey went on a goal spree as they emerged as 4-09 to 0-06 winners over Navan O’Mahonys.

The Division Three Final will be an all blue affair as Boardsmill overcame the challenge of St. Pats during the week to book their place in the final where they will face St. Colmcilles. A hat trick of goals each for Laura Garrigan and Paula Dorian helped the ‘Mill book their place in the final. Leighanne Woods was top scorer for the Pats/Duleek-Bellewstown side with 0-04 while there was 0-02 each for Roisin Lenehan and Katie Dowling. Boardsmill and St. Colmcilles last met in the opening round where the Cilles family recorded a 2-07 to 0-04 win, however both sides and the weather have improved since, making this final an intriguing prospect!

Summerhill and Na Fianna served up a thriller in Trim on Saturday afternoon in the U16 Division Two Final. The sides went tooth and nail from the outside with the Julianne Scanlon and Ciara Daly trained side emerging as 4-11 to 3-12 winners. On Sunday, a sun drenched Bective hosted four finals. Simonstown took home the Division One Shield as they accounted for Ratoath by 4-12 to 0-08. Oldcastle took Division Two Shield honours as they overcame a tenacious Skryne side that hit back several times throughout the encounter and can be proud of their efforts. Oldcastle were impressive throughout, winning by 7-05 to 4-09. Division Three Shield Honours went to Moylagh as they defeated St. Colmcilles by 2-15 to 2-09. Dunshaughlin are sure to be celebrating as their U16 B team took home Division Four Honours in a score fuelled contest, the Gaels winning by 6-11 to 3-11 after a terrific battle.

Club Fixtures Meath Ladies League; Round Seven


Division One;

St. Ultans 7-11 v 2-10 Simonstown

Dee Rangers 2-07 v 0-11 Oldcastle

Royal Gaels 0-11 v 2-16 Boardsmill

Seneschalstown 3-16 v 1-14 Dunboyne

Back Game: Seneschalstown 4-13 v 0-04 Royal Gaels – played Mon 9th.


Division Two;

Donaghmore-Ashbourne w/o v Clann na nGael – Conceded by Clann na nGael

Summerhill 5-09 v 0-10 Ratoath

Navan O’Mahonys 0-06 v 4-09 Moynalvey

St. Michaels 4-12 v 3-09 Na Fianna – Played on Mon 9th.


Division Three;

Back Game: Skryne 5-14 v 4-08 Dunsany – played Wed 11th.

Boardsmill 9-09 v 0-08 St. Pats/Duleek-Bellewstown – played Thurs 12th.

Oldcastle 3-04 v 3-17 St. Colmcilles – Played Thurs 12th.

Blackhall Gaels v Skryne – TBC


Under 16 Club Championship – Finals


Division One;

Shield: Ratoath 0-08 v 4-12 Simonstown


Division Two;

Cup: Summerhill 4-11 v 3-12 Na Fianna

Shield: Oldcastle 7-05 v 4-09 Skryne


Division Three;

Shield: Moylagh 2-15 v 2-09 St. Colmcilles


Division Four;

Cup: Dunsany 3-11 v 6-11 Royal Gaels

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs