Roscommon Notes 13.03.2015

Enda Ward Bros Plant Hire Jersey Presentation

After three home games in succession Ward Bros sponsored senior ladies make the long trek south to Dungarvan to take on  table toppers Waterford on Sunday afternoon next. Throw in 2p.m. Waterford who has been very impressive in all their games so far beating Sligo 5-12 to 0-06 and Fermanagh 5-13 to 0-03 in their two home games and had four point to spare over Tipperary 2-12 to 3-05 in a game played in Arfinnan. Roscommon can take some solace from the fact they had only four points to spare over Tipperary in their last outing which would suggest that there shouldn’t be much between the sides on Sunday next. Home advantage will play a big part, if Roscommon were to etch out a result here it will be a huge step forward the team and propel them into the promotion race. With three wins on the troth Roscommon will not be going to Fraher Field Dungarvan to make up the numbers no doubt Kieran Kilkenny and his management team will be looking for a big 60 minutes from their side. Games takes place in Páirc Uí Fhearchair Dungarvan (home of Waterford GAA) on Sunday next @ 2p.m. Best of luck to team and management.


Thank you: Roscommon Ladies County Board would like to thank St. Brigids GAA Club Executive for the use of their facilities for the home league games recently, a special word of thanks to those who served refreshments to the referee and his officials, media personnel and county board officials during half time interval. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank St. Faithleachs GAA Club Executive for the use of their facilities for the Connacht minor championship game played on .Sunday last again a special word of thanks to those who served refreshments to referee and his officials, media personnel and county board officials at half time interval. Your help and support is very much appreciated.


Connacht Minor Championship

Mayo 2-8, Roscommon 1-10

Mayo got out of Balllyleague with full points on Sunday last, but only by the skin of their teeth. A free from Shauna Howley eight minutes into injury time won the match after a determined Roscommon had come from six points down to level the game twice in this time. Mayo played with the breeze in the first half but Roscommon opened the scoring within a minute with a point from midfielder Shauna Connell. Roscommon matched Mayo in the possession and chances stakes in the first 15 minutes but failed to score for a further 20 minutes while Mayo scored 2-3 without reply. The diminutive Saoirse Ludden was the chief thorn in the Roscommon defence as her pace set up several chances which Fiona Groden and Shauna Howley availed off to score the goals. During this period Caoimhe O’Reilly in the Roscommon goal pulled off three excellent saves, the first a full length dive that any goalkeeper at any level would be proud off. With Mayo threatening to run riot, Roscommon eventually settled with Tess Murtagh leading in defence and Rachel Fitzmaurice becoming more of an influence in attack. Two goal chances went amiss from Grainne Lohan and Jill Mullooly before Rachel Fitzmaurice pointed a free when sub Katie Daly was fouled and this was followed by a Jill Mullooly point after she was set up by Therese Lennon. Just before half time Rachel Fitmaurice ran onto a breaking ball to despatch a brilliant goal from 20 metres into the roof of the net to leave Roscommon trailing 2-5 to 1-3.

Mayo were first to score on the resumption with a free to double the score but that was their last on target for nearly half an hour. Roscommon were gaining the upper hand in the middle third with the half back line completely dominant. Points from Therese Lennon and Rachel Fitzmaurice (2) left a goal in it. At this stage Caoimhe O’Reilly had to leave the field after she sustained a head injury in a goalmouth scramble and this lengthy stoppage lead to a long period of injury time at the finish. Mayo’s defence managed to avert a goal only for the clearance to fall to Jill Mullooly who fired over from a tight angle. Roscommon wasted several opportunities before Grainne Lohan scored from 25 metres to finish a move involving Niamh Feeney and Rachel Fitzmaurice. It was left to Katie Daly to hit the equaliser with a high up and under which the wind guided over to a mighty cheer from the home crowd. But Mayo countered five minutes into injury time for Shauna Howley to put them ahead with a free. Roscommon’s heads didn’t drop and a Rachel Fitzmaurice free tied up the scores once more but Mayo’s Howley got one more chance from a free eight minutes into injury time and she held her nerve to score the winner.

Roscommon: Caoimhe O’Reilly (St. Brigids), Claire McCormack (Kilglass Gaels) Niamh Farrell (St. Ciaran’s), Rachel Brady (St. Mary’s), Niamh Feeney (St. Mary’s), Tess Murtagh (Shannon Gaels), Christina Beirne (Shannon Gaels), Rachel Corcoran (St.Dominic’s), Shauna Connell 0-1 (Clann na nGael), Maeveen Green (Eire Og), Jill Mullooly 0-2 (Strokestown), Rachel Fitzmaurice 1-4 (St. Ciaran’s), Grainne Lohan 0-1 (Padraig Pearses), Caoimhe Lennon (Clann na nGael), Therese Lennon 0-1 (Clann na nGael).

Subs: Courtney Mulhall- Gibbons (Michal Glaveys), Rachel McDermott (Shannon Gaels), Katie Kelly (Kilbride), Niamh Murray (Padraig Pearses), Vivien Mulryan (Padraig Pearses) Megan Finnerty (Padraig Pearses), Alaine Morris (St. Brigid’s), Chloe Whyte-Lennon (St. Ciaran’s), Leanne Ward (Clann na nGael), Rebecca Brennan (St. Ciaran’s), Nicole Dolan (St. Dominic’s), Katie Daly 0-1 (Shannon Gaels), Eleanor Hanley (Strokestown), Aoife Beades (St. Ciaran’s), Aisling Egan (Shannon Gaels)



Roscommon Ladies Gaelic Football Association would like to congratulate Marie Hickey who was officially inaugurated as the new president of the LGFA at Congress in Dromoland last weekend. The board look forward to working with Marie during her term as president. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank outgoing president Pat Quill for his help over the last six years and wish well in his retirement.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs