2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

TG4 Leinster Championship 2006




The Wicklow senior Ladies football team bowed out of the TG4
Leinster championship at the quarter finals stage when they were
beaten By Laois in Stratford on Friday evening last.

This game was fixed for the 21st of May however that game was
cancelled due to very poor weather conditions. On Friday evening
last weather and playing conditions were excellent for this well
contested game of ladies football. Wicklow went in at the break
down three points (1-5 to 2-5 ), and were unable to close that
gap through out the second period, Laois on the other hand were
more accurate in front of goal, running out the eventual winners.

The number seven seemed to dominate this game, Wicklow were five
points up in the seventh minute, then Laois drew level in the
fourteenth and were three points clear in the twenty first, and
they added their second goal in the twenty eight, While Wicklow’s
number seven had her penalty kick saved in the fourteenth minute
of the second half, and finally Laois had seven points to spare
at full time.

Wicklow got off to a blistering start Niamh Carroll raising the
white flag after forty five seconds, Laois’s number ten cancelled
that score a minute later.

Wicklow’s first free of the game came in the third minute, Chrissie
Shortt finding her range to put the home side back in the driving
seat and Monica Lynch capitalised on Wicklow’s possession, the
Newtown girl ripped through the Laois defence to find the top
corner of Carol Browns net to give the Garden County a four point

In the fifth minute Chrissie Shortt had a second opportunity from
a free to open the gap further, but on this occasion the An Tochar
players shot went to the left and wide, Niamh Carroll tagged on
her second point of the game in the seventh minute to put five
between the sides and Wicklow seemed to be in command at this

For the next five minutes both sides battled hard with great defensive
play from Aoife Hefferan, Maura Reid, and Lorna Fuiscairdi in
the half back line for the home side.

But the O’Moore girls persistence paid off in the twelfth minute
when their number thirteen Helena Moore breached the Wicklow back
line to rattle Emer Mileys net for the first time in the game.
The Laois side added a further five points two from Charlotte
Dealaney and one apiece from Elizabeth Cahill, Riselle O’Neill,
and Eva Brennan, without reply from the Wicklow girls.

Wicklow’s keeper and Captain pulled off a number of crucial saves
through out the half to keep her side in touch, Niamh Carroll
added two more points to her tally before Laois’s Charlotte Delaney
notched up her sides second goal just before the break.

Wicklow’s only score of the second half came in the first minute
of the third quarter from their top scorer Niamh Carroll , the
Blessington girl converted a free after Sinead Boland was fouled,
while Laois’s Elizabeth Cahill added a further goal and a point,
and their final point came from Eva Brennan, which to be fair
could have been a lot more but for the excellent goal keeping
and leadership skills of Wicklow’s captain Emer Miley who has
been an unsung hero for the Wicklow senior side for many seasons.

Wicklow can reflect on a second half of missed chances and bad
luck, but the side played with pride and were disappointed to
lose out to Laois on this occasion.

Last season the Wicklow girls won the Suzuki National football
league fourth division title but lost all their games in the TG4
Leinster championship. This season, they reached the semi-final
of the Suzuki National football league third division, losing
out to the eventual winner Clare, and have exited the TG4 Leinster
championship at the quarter finals stage. With the talent that
is now emerging in ladies football in the Garden County there
is no reason that the Wicklow senior side can not win out one
of these competition next season.

Wicklow Panel: Emer Miley(Capt.Blessington), Nicky Donohue(Kilbride),
Aisling O’hAnnaidh(Bray Emmets),Mary helan(Blessington),Maura
Reid(Blessington), Lorna Fusicardi (Eire Og), Aoife Heffernan
(Bray Emmets), Niamh Ryan(Blessington) Julie Fitzmaurice(Blessington),
Niamh Carroll(Blessington 0-5), Jill Heatley (Blessington), Eadaoine
Lenihan(Bray Emmets), Monica Lynch(Newtown 1-0),Chrissie Shortt(An
Tochar 0-1), Grainne Ryan(Blessington). Subs: Niamh Coleman(Bray

Emmets) for Monica Lynch,, Sinead Boland (Bray Emmets) for Lorna
Fusicardi, Bridget Kenny (Carnew) for Mary Whelan, Lisa

Doyle(Knockananna), Laois Panel: Carol Brown,(capt), Joleen Cahill,
Louise Delaney, Linn O Callanagh, Valeerie Donogue, Anna Walsh,
Leanne Fallon, Allison Hobson, Anna Moore, Rishelle O’Neill, Eva
Brennan, Shona Barry, Helena Moore, Elizabeth Cahill, Charotte
Delaney, Subs: Martina O’Conner for Rishelle O’Neill, Claire O’Conner
for Elizabeth Cahill.

Referee: Pat Keogh (Carlow).


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs