Tipperary Claim Under 14 National Blitz

The Tipperary under 14 panel and under 13 development squad travelled to Portlaoise on Saturday to partake in this years national blitz finals. This is a very strong competition annually which sees the best teams from around the country compete for this prestigious trophy and All Ireland Cup. Tipperary entered two teams in the Division 1 A and 2 B competitions with the younger under 13 squad taking part against older girls in 2 B.

Caitlin Kennedy J Capt

Played on a round robin basis Tipperary met the mighty Dublin ladies in rd 1 and defeated them 1:04 to 1:01setting them up nicely for the next game with Kildare. The Tipp ladies were defeated here by two points, 1:05 to 1:03 but were quickly back on track with a good win over Mayo in round 3, 1:06 to 1:02.In their fourth game they put Donegal to the sword, 2:04 to 1:01. This win meant they were now level on 9 points with Kildare and under rules of the competition a shoot out would decided who would advance to the final. Tipperary won this shoot out 3:2 earning a place in the 1 A final for the first time ever.

No less a footballing county than Kerry would be their opponents in the final. In an absorbing contest Tipperary emerged victorious 1:07 to 1:06 after some wonderful passages of football from these two underage teams who are also well acquainted. Congrats to Ed Burke, Moyle Rovers and his management team who have done and continue to do so much excellent development work week in week out in Tipperary.

Tipperary : Saoirse Teer, Ellen Moore, Maria Connolly, Mary O Brien, Alison Connolly, Caitlin Kennedy, Cathy Hogan, Orla Winston, Dervla Heffernan, Rosanna Kiely, Ava Fennessy, Caoimhe Mulcahy, Carrie Davey, Ciara Dwan, Aisling Ryan, Ciara Morrissey, Niamh Hayes, Alice Ryan, Brona Bergin, Erin Bourke, Ellen Gantley, Queva O’Meara, Lauren O’Brien, Veerle Van Der Waal, Emma Fitzpatrick, Leah McGuire, Eimear Boland, Rachel Moore, Leah Clancy, Megan Tynan, Emma Shelly.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs