2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Tipperary Too good for Faithful



Followers of Tipperary Ladies Football made the journey to Crettyard, County Laois on Saturday last to support their Minor Team in the final of the All Ireland Minor B Championship. Tipperary came in to this game on the back of some excellent results against Limerick, Kerry, Waterford and Armagh. 

On an afternoon of persistent rain, Tipperary’s Aisling Moloney caught the ball from the throw in and took charge of the game by scoring the first point followed quickly from the resultant kickout with a well-placed goal to give the Premier County the perfect start. Tipperary continued their dominance with four points in the next five minutes, from Aisling McCarthy, Roisin Howard, Aoife Corcoran and Elaine Fitzpatrick before Aisling Moloney returned with another one of her own in the eighth minute. Tipperary had laid siege on Offaly’s backs and Aoibhe O’Shea, Tipperary increased their score line further when she raised Tipperary’s second green flag. Aisling McCarthy, of Tipperary scored a hat trick of points before Offaly’s Emer Nally would get their first point of the game in the 22nd minute. In the final few minutes of the first half Tipperary outscored Offaly two points to one to leave the score at half time Tipperary 2-11 Offaly 0-2. 

Tipperary re-emerged in the second half and continued their dominance. Tipperary’s full-forward, Roisin Howard started the second half scoring with a goal in the 32nd minute followed quickly by a point before adding her second goal in the 37th minute. In worsening conditions, the rate of scoring decreased for a time as Offaly added a goal and a point from Róisín Egan as the game entered the final quarter. Following a scoreless ten minutes for Tipperary Aisling McCarthy reopened their scoring with a point. In the 52nd minute substitute Caoimhe Condon netted the ball for Tipperary’s fifth goal and in the next minute Roisin Howard completed her hat trick of goals. Aoife Corcoran scored Tipperary’s seventh goal before Roisin Howard and Aisling McCarthy added a further point each to complete the scoring and a comprehensive 30 point victory – Tipperary 7-15 Offaly 1-3. 

Afterwards, Ladies Gaelic Football Association President, Pat Quill presented cup to the Tipperary captain Aisling McCarthy and the same player won the Player of the Match award. Congratulations to the Minor Team Manager, John Joe O’Connor and his management team of Nicola Gilmore, Elaine Harte and Jimmy Sweeney for their hard work and commitment to ensure the team were well prepared throughout the successful campaign.  

Tipperary Team: Lauren Fitzpatrick (Ardfinnan); Maria Curley (Templemore), Mairead Eviston (Templemore), Louise Cadell (Templemore); Laura Dillon (Ardfinnan), Brid Condon (Aherlow), Elaine Kelly (Cappawhite); Aoife Corcoran (Cahir), Maria Kinane (Moycarkey Borris); Elaine Fitzpatrick (Templemore), Aisling McCarthy, Captain (Cahir), Sarah Everard (Moyle Rovers); Aoibhe O’Shea (Mullinahone), Roisin Howard (Cahir), Aishling Moloney (Cahir). 
Scorers: Roisin Howard 3-3, Aisling McCarthy 0-6 (1free), Aishling Moloney 1-2, Aoife Corcoran 1-1, Caoimhe Condon 1-0, Aoibhe O’Shea 1-0, Sarah Everard 0-2, Elaine Fitzpatrick 0-1.
Subs used: Caoimhe Condon for Aoibhe O’Shea, Dara Walsh for Maria Kinnane, Hazel Shanahan for Maria Curley, Maureen Murphy for Louise Cadell, Emma Buckley for Laura Dillon. 
Panel: Laura Peters (Galtee Rovers), Hazel Shanahan (Moyle Rovers), Dara Walsh (Clonmel Commercials), Caoimhe Condon (Brian Borus), Claire Walsh (Brian Borus), Niamh Butler (Moyne Templetuohy), Maeve O’Gorman (Aherlow), Emma Buckley (Cahir), Maureen Murphy (Brian Borus), Megan Shanahan (Moyle Rovers), Sarah Ryan (Clonmel Commercials), Kate Cashman (Templemore), Roisin Finnane (Galtee Rovers), Niamh Mackey (Clonmel Commercials), Eimear Everard (Moyne Templetuohy), Keely Halpin (Cahir). 
Management Team: John Joe O’Connor (Manager), Nicola Gilmore, Elaine Harte, Jim Sweeney. Physio – Sharon O’Connor. 

Offaly Team: Lauren Dunne (Rhode); Sarah Cummins (Edenderry), Ann Daly, (St. Rynagh’s), Emer Nally (Naoimh Ciaran); Nicole Farrelly (Edenderry), Ciara O’Connor (Edenderry), Katie Killeen (Rhode); Hannah McMahon, Captain (Rhode), Gráinne Dolan (St. Rynagh’s); Aoife Corbett (Naomh Ciaran), Róisín Egan (Naomh Egan), Claire Connolly (Edenderry); Ellie McEvoy (Naomh Ciaran), Shauna Farrelly (Edenderry), Emma Kirwin (Naomh Molaoise). 
Scorers: Róisín Egan 1-2 (1free), Emer Nally 0-1 
Panel: Lucy Egan (Naomh Ciaran), Ciara Flynn (Naomh Ciaran), Tara Egan (Naomh Ciaran), Rebecca Gorman (Edenderry), Dawn Hannon (Rhode), Emma Maher (Naomh Ciaran), Cathy Ennis (Naomh Ciaran), Orla Whelan (Edenderry). 
Management Team: Greg Farrelly, Alan Ennis (Managers), Noeleen O’Rourke, Nicola McEvoy. Physio – Damian McManamon. 

Referee: Mel Kenny

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs