Bord Gais Energy National Football League
Wexford were without the services of a number of experienced players, however the Model county were well represented by a young side that gave a great account of themselves on Sunday last when they played host to a strong Waterford side, and the home side were unlucky not to register their first win of the season.
Waterford came into this game on the back of a heavy defeat to Meath in a relegation play off recently, and were happy to leave the Guserane venue with their first win in division 2A of the Bord Gais Energy National football League.
Wexford captain Mary Rose Kelly won the toss and elected to played with a strong breeze in the first half, however, just over a minute into the game the Wexford number one had to take the ball out of the back of her net, after Waterford Captain Michelle Ryan fired the ball past Kelly to register a goal in referee Garryowen McMahon’s note book.
Waterfords celebrations were short lived, when Wexford hot shot Natasha Martin notched up her first goal of the game in the second minute to settle the home side.
Waterford went back in front in the fourth minute when Leona Tector was found guilty of fouling Michelle Ryan, Ryan tapped over the free to give the Deise a one point advantage.
Wexfords number fourteen Natasha Martin was once again on hand to draw the sides level (1-1 to 1-1) with a sweetly struck free.
Over the next ten minutes both sides traded scores, Wexfords Fiona Rochford was denied a certain goal by the agile Waterford keeper Aimee Jordan, Jordan tipping over Rochfords attempt in the fourteenth minute to keep her side in the driving seat by the narrowest of margins (1-2 to 1-3).
Wexfords forwards continued to apply pressure and they were rewarded in the eighteenth and nineteenth minutes with two well worked points from Natasha Martin and Clare Finn, Finn latching on to an accurate pass from Leona Tector to put the home side ahead for the first time in the game (1-4 to 1-3).
Two minutes later the model county were dealt the first of two body blows, the first when their number six Ciara Cosgrove was dispatched to the sin-bin for a high tackle on Waterfords Elaine Power, and body blow number two came on the stroke of half time when Michelle Ryan released a quick pass to Elaine Power, Power rifled the ball to the back of the Wexford net, to leave the score board reading 1-4 to 2-3 in Waterfords favour at the break.
So, it was game on for the second period, Waterford upped the tempo with the wind in their backs and took full advantage, notching up one goal and five points (1-4 to 3-8) before Wexford responded with a opportunists goal from super sub Lisa Goff, Goff was quickest to react to Sharon Kehoes lobbed shot, by flicking it over Aimee Jordan to kick start the Wexford come back.
For the second time in the game Waterford keeper Aimee Jordan denied Wexford a opportunity to see the green flag raised, unfortunately Lisa Goff had to be content with the white flag being held aloft .
Waterfords final point came from the trusty boot of their captain Michelle Ryan to leave her side with a comfortable lead (2-6 to 3-9) with only minutes left on the clock, however, this young Wexford side ran them to the wire with Natasha Martin firing a 20m free taken off the ground into the top of Jordans net to close the gap to three points (2-6 to 3-9), Martin has obviously been studying a certain premiership Portuguese player, because the Wexford striker was on target from a similar position seconds earlier , unfortunately the fiercely struck shot rattled the side netting. While the model county side were disappointed with the final result, they can only be delighted with the way they went about their task, with a very positive attitude that I’m sure we will see the Wexford side in the shake up for titles this season.
Wexford: Mary Rose Kelly, Amy Ryan, Leona Tector, Aoife Waters, Anne Cooper, Ciara Cosgrove, Orla Donohoe, Fiona Kavanagh, Linda Casey, Sharon Kehoe, Fiona Rochford (0-1) , Tara Maloney, Naomi Fogarty, Natasha Martin (2-3) , Clare Finn (0-1), Subs: Lisa Goff (1-1) for Clare Finn, Emma Hore for Naomi Fogarty, Karen Tomkins for Amy Ryan, Sandra Lawlor for Orla Donohoe.
Waterford: Aimee Jordan, Nora Dunphy, Eibhlis Cooney, Laurissa Hogan, Ann Dunphy, Mary Foley, Aoife McGovern, Louise Ryan (1-0), Michelle McGrath, Mairead Wall (0-1), Elaine Power (1-0), Linda Wall (0-3), Mary Foley, Michelle Ryan (1-4), Roisin Manahan, Grainne Kelly (0-1).
Referee: Garryowen McMahon (Dublin).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs