2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Ballingeary/Inchigeelagh reach the promised land.

Ballingeary/Inchigeelagh reach the promised


Ladies Football Junior A Co Final By Fr Liam Kelleher

Ballingeary/Inchigeelagh 4-9 Naomh Aban 0-6

For a relatively young club it was dream come through for this
committed bunch of players who have progressed from under 12 under
the tutilage of Justin McCarthy and co. to have won this prestigious
Junior championship. This Championship final against near neighbours
Naomh Aban from Ballyvourney, drew one the biggest crowds ever
to a ladies football match in Cork. In the end Justin’s girls
had a lot to spare, but the scoreboard does scant justice to contribution
the Ballyvourney girls made to a very good final.

Co Junior Champions Ballingaey/Inchigeelagh

The first half was a close rugged encounter with
no quarter asked or given. Scoring was at a minimum with B/I leading
on a scoreline of 3 points to one. Naomh Aban reduced the gap
to a minimum shortly after the break and missed a few gilt edged
opportunities before the game was turned on its head with 2 quick
fire goals from Noelle McSweeny after Rhona Buckley set her up.
It was all Ballingeary/Inchigeelagh after that. Their most influential
player, Cork underage star and Senior panellist Rhona Buckley,
really put the game out of reach with 2 spectacular goals. Mary
Cronin was solid all through for them in goals Julie O’Sullivan,
Carmel McCarthy and Anita Thompson, with veteran DD Cronin doing
some tremendous work at midfield and in defence. Leanne Keraney
who lines out for Corks under 16’s against Donegal in the All-Ireland
final at Tuam on Saturday next did a lot of grafting on the half
line, with the scores coming mainly from Rhona Buckley and Noelle

Joint capt DD Cronin shows
huge determination as she breaks away with the ball
Mentors Justin McCarthy
and Frank Dineen in deep discussion on the sideline.
What of Ballyvorney girls?…. they did remarkably well
after being regraded when they lost 5 inter-co players to
their opponents and St Vals, and the club winners of an All-Ireland
3 years ago looked to be going out of existence. Credit them
for regrouping and making a right good game of it. They had
fine players in Fiona O’Sullivan, Siobhan Buckley, Eimear
O’Connell and Katie Lynch and will be encouraged by reaching
this county final.

Referee Gene Buckley refereed sensibly, with his mouth as
well as his whistle, quickly pointing out any indiscretions

Scorers Ballingaery/Inchigeelagh: Rhona Buckley 2-4 Noelle
Mc Sweeney 2-3 DD Cronin 0-1 Helen O’Sullivan 0-1

Naomh Aban: Katie Lynch 0-2 Grainne Lucey 0-1 Noreen O’Leary
0-1 Cliodnha O’Leary 0-1 Eimear 0’Connell 0-1

Teams: Ballingeary/Inchigeela: Marie Ni Chroinin, Cliodhna
Ni Dhuinnin, Julie Ni Shuilleabhain, Ciara Ni Riordain, Marie
Ni Laoi, Carmel Ni Charthaigh, Anita Nic Thomais, Aine Ni
Ghealbhain, Deirdre Ni Chroinin, Liadh Ni Chearnaigh, Zoe
Ni Chaoimh Eibhlis Ni Chearnaigh, Noelle Ni Shuibhe, Rhona
Ni Bhuachalla, Tara Ni Bhuachalla, Caroline De Burca, Orla
Seartan, Gobnait Ni Laoi, Helen Ni Shuilleabhain, Gobnait
Ni Thuama, Rachel Ni Mhuineachain, Cacily Ni Loinsigh, Mairead
Ni Laoire, Miriam Ni Laoire, Aine Ni Luasa, Louise Ni Shuibhne,
Clar Ni Cheilleachair, Marion Ni Cheallachain, Lisa Ni Shuibhne

Naomh Aban: Cliodhna Ni Cheallachain, Cait Ni Choncubhair,
Fiona Ni Shuilleabhain, Eadoin Ni Scanaill, Mairead Ni Thuathaigh,
Siobhan Ni Bhuachalla, Siobhan Ni Mhurchu, Grainne Ni Luasa,
Eimear Ni Chonaill, Cliodhna Ni Laoire, Katie Ni Loinsaigh,
Aibhe Ni Loinsaigh, Niamh Ni Laoire, Michelle Ni Riordain,
Noirin Ni Laoire, Mariead Ni Luasa, Mary Ni Choncubhair, Niamh
Ni Scanaill, Catriona Ni Scanaill, Ruth Ni Riarda, Joanne
Ni Chriodain, Maedhbh Ni Cheallaigh, Nicola Ni Chriodain,
Anne Marie Ni Scannaill, Sile Ni Cheallaigh, Mairead Ni Cheallaigh.

Joint Captains DD Cronin
and Aine Galvin savour their cup of joy runneth over
Co Intermediate Final Result. Mourneabey 2-14 Kildorrery




Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs