Dublin March to Under 16 All Ireland Final

Dublin U16’s booked their place in the year’s All Ireland final following a comprehensive 17 point win over Armagh last Saturday afternoon in Drogheda.

Dublin v Armagh U16 Ladies Gaelic Football, All Ireland Semi Final 9th July 2016 . Gaelic Grounds , Drogheda, Co Louth..Copyright of GAApics.com Photography 2016 - All Images are protected under The Copyright and Related Rights Act 2000.Not to be used without expressed written permission from GAApics.com. Mandatory Credit - GAApics.com

Leinster champions, Dublin playing with the aid of a strong wind in the opening period of the game where given a dream start when Sarah McMahon netted for the Dub’s with less than a minute gone on the clock.  Dublin took full advantage of the blustery conditions as all six forwards pressed the Armagh kick out applying huge pressure on the orange Counties back line. 


Dublin were rewarded for their efforts as Ciara Holland (3 points), Niamh Hetherton (1 point) pushed Dublin ahead with four unanswered points.  Niamh Murray at corner forward popped over Armagh’s first score of the game in the 6th minute but Dublin responded briskly tagging on seven points of their own,  Jodi Egan (3), Sarah Fagan (1), Holland (2F), Rachel Breen (1) before Murray could reply with her sides second score of the game.


In the 28th minute of the half, Hannah Leahy a late replacement for the holiday bound Ciara Murray latched onto a perfect pass to blast her shot beyond Eimear O’Brien in the Armagh goal to give the Leinster champions a commanding 2-11 (17) to 0-04 lead at the break.


Armagh midfielder Niamh Reel got the opening score of the second period as the Orchard County now with the wind at their backs aimed to curtail the high flying Dub’s. Caoimhe O’Connor tapped over her side’s 12th point in the 34th min but O’Connor’s score was soon cancelled out by a Reel point for Armagh.


The crunch scores of the second half both came from Dublin as the blues netted twice to seal victory.


Team Captain, Rachel Brennan bagged Dublin’s third game of the game in the 47th minute to affectively kill the game as a contest as Dublin now led by 3-14 (23) to 0-07.


Dublin introduced Emma McCormack into the game and the youngster from Fingallians soon put her stamp on the contest with a well taken goal. Having gained possession out wide on the left hand side of the pitch, McCormack ran through the heart of the Armagh defence at pace to blast her shot beyond Armagh sub keeper, Chloe Kelly. McCormack’s goal coming in the 53rd minute of the game propelled Dublin into a 4-14 (26) to 0-07 lead over the Ulster champions.


To their credit Armagh never gave up and where rewarded for their determination when Elena Garvey netted for her side with just two minutes remaining in the contest.


As the final whistle sounded Pat Kane’s side had seventeen points to spare over their opponents as the scoreboard read, Dublin 4-15 (27) to Armagh’s 1-07(10).


Saturday’s victory secured Dublin’s place in the U16 All Ireland final on July 27th where they will meet the winners of the Kerry versus Mayo semi-final, which is taking place this coming Wednesday night in Birr (7pm).


Dublin last lifted the U16 All Ireland title back in 2010 having lost the finals of 2011, 2013 and 2014 to Kerry and Cork respectively.


Images from the U16 All Ireland semi-final, Dublin v Armagh are available to view on GAApics.com



Aine Ryan (Naomh Barrog), Laura Dempsey (Fingallians), Lisa Davies (Foxrock Cabinteely), Hannah Murphy (Ballyboden St Endas), Erin Healy (O’Dwyers), Sarah Fagan (Clontarf0, Maria O’Dea (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Niamh Hetherton (Craobh Chiarain), Grainne O’Driscoll (Cuala), Jodi Egan (Foxrock Cabinteely), Rachel Brennan (St Peregrines), Sarah McMahon (Kilmacud Crokes), Caoimhe O’Connor (Clontarf), Hannah Leahy (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Ciara Holland (Naomh Mearnog)


Dublin Subs:

Emma McCormack (Fingallians) for McMahon, Katie McNally (St Anne’s) for Leahy, Eimear Loughlin (Cuala) for Egan, Aideen Lynch (Na Fianna) for Healy, Megan Cluskey (Erins Isle) for O’Connor


Dublin scorers:

Rachel Brennan 1-2, Ciara Holland 0-5(4f), Emma McCormack 1-1, Jodi Egan 0-3, Sarah McMahon 1-00, Hannah Leahy 1-00, Niamh Hetherton 0-2, Sarah Fagan 0-1, Caoimhe O’Connor 0-1



Eimear O’Brien, Anna McCaughley, Cait Towe, Tiarna McVeigh, Grace Ferguson, Lauren O’Gorman, Emma Conlon, Niamh Reel, Dearbhla Coleman, Elena Garvey, Maebh McCambridge, Sarah Quigley, Niamh Murray, Jessica Watters, Erin O’Reilly


Armagh Subs:

Chloe Kelly for O’Brien, Alannah O’Grady for Watters, Niamh Forker for O’Reilly, Orlaith McArdle for O’Gorman, Kirsty Murphy for Towe


Armagh’s scorers:

Niamh Reel 0-4(3f), Elena Garvey 1-00, Niamh Murray 0-2, Dearbhla Coleman 0-1


Referee: Maggie Farrelly (Cavan)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs