2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

U14 A Munster Final – Sharon O Keeffe Cork Pro

U14 A Munster Final – Sharon O Keeffe Cork Pro

On Saturday May 1st hosted by Kanturk GAA , the Cork U14’s dispelled the Kerry Challenge to retain their Munster U14 Crown. Played before a moderate attendance , the Kerry girls first attack registered their first wide. Once Cork net minder Meabh O Sullivan kicked out the corresponding wide ball Cork’s intentions were clearly marked . Julie Dennehy converted their first scoring chance with a free followed shortly by the first of Cork 6 goals when Midfielder Hannah Looney found the back of the Kerry net. Two further Dennehy points followed by a second goal from Looney saw Cork stretch their opening lead until on the break Kerry markswoman Erin Finnucane goaled to open the Kerry Scores. Dennehy herself raised the green flag with Looney adding a point . Kerry added a further 2 points . Cork Captain Laura Fitzgerald then added her sides 4th first half goal with the final point of the half going to the visitors. Half time Cork 4-7 Kerry 1-3

Second half and possibly with the match slipping out of the Kerry grasp – it was more had more of a defensive feel. Cork opened the scoring with an Amy O Connor point , before a 10 minutes spell with neither team giving away scores. Fitzgerald made the break through the Kerry defence to add to Cork’s points tally followed by the last Kerry score of the match was their solitary second half point. Aibhe Dowling converted two points & with Cork running on their subs up stepped both Saoirse Moore & Evie Casey to raise find the back of the Kerry net , both added a point to their goals and Dennehy finished of her teams full time points total. Full time Cork 6-13 Kerry 1-4. Player of the match went to Cork’s midfielder Aine Cronin who worked tirelessly throughout linking defence with attack. A delighted Laura Fitzgerald , Cork Captain accepted the Munster U14 Cup from Dan o Mahony Munster President. Cork next play the Connacht winners on the weekend of May 29th / 30th.

Team & scorers: Meabh O Sullivan, Elaine Casey, Marie Ambrose, Eimear Meaney, Sarah Fahey, Una Blackburn , Ciara O Rourke, Hannah Looney 2-1, Aine Cronin, Mairead Corkery 0-1; Laura Fitzgerald 1-1 Aibhe Dowling 0-2; Eimear Scally 0-1, Julie Dennehy 1-4 Kate Fitzpatrick. Subs used: Amy O Connor 0-1; Saoirse Moore 1-1; Evie Casey 1-1 Irene Herlihy & Aoife Madden.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs