2009 O Neills / TG4 Ladies Football All Star Nominations Announced

2009 O Neills / TG4 Ladies Football All Star Nominations Announced

Five-in-a-Row Cork Secure 12 Nominations

The 2009 Ladies Football All Star nominations have been announced with Senior All-Ireland Finalists Cork and Dublin dominating with 21 of the 45 nominations between them. The winners will be announced at a ceremony at Citywest on Saturday, 14th November.


The Rebelettes, unsurprisingly, have secured the most nominations with 12 covering every area of the pitch. Amy O’Shea and Ciara O’Sullivan are in line for their first All Stars, while amongst the most decorated are Juliet Murphy and Angela Walsh, going for their fourth and fifth awards respectively.


Dublin, who put up a memorable display against Cork in this year’s senior final, have nine players nominated, including goalkeeper Cliodhna O’Connor and captain Denise Masterson at midfield. They are amongst those looking to secure a first All Star for Dublin since half back Gemma Fay collected in 2005.


In all, 12 counties are represented in the nominations. Mayo have four, with Golden Boot winner Cora Staunton going for number seven, while Kildare’s Noelle Earley has made it two football All Star nominations in one family, following her brother Dermot’s nomination last month.


Galway’s early season form has secured the team four nominations and semi finalists Monaghan have five. Intermediate champions Clare have three nominations, Tyrone and Armagh have two each and Longford, Fermanagh, and Tipperary are rewarded with one each.


Making the announcement, Ladies Gaelic Football Association President Pat Quill said, “2009 has been a truly memorable year for ladies football with three classic finals having been played out at Croke Park with over 20,000 in attendance.


“Year by year new teams are pushing to the forefront, which is encouraging and indicative of the growing strength of the game. It is heartening to see Dublin back in the spotlight and they deserve their nine nominations and Clare are rewarded with three which shows that there is real talent at intermediate level. Congratulations are due to all the nominees and we look forward to what is sure to be a great night for everyone involved.”



2009 All Star Nominations


Elaine Harte (Cork)
Cliodhna O’Connor (Dublin)
Denise Walsh (Clare)

Full Back Line:
Rena Buckley (Cork)
Noelle Comyn (Dublin)
Maria Kavanagh (Dublin)
Sinead McLaughlin (Tyrone)
Emer Flaherty (Galway)
Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)
Noelle Tierney (Mayo)
Dervla Toal (Armagh)
Angela Walsh (Cork)


Half Back Line:
Colleen Barrett (Dublin)
Martha Carter (Mayo)
Breige Corkery (Cork)
Jennifer Grant (Tipperary)
Aoife McAnaspie (Monaghan)
Siobhan McGrath (Dublin)
Rebecca McPhilbin (Galway)
Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork)
Bríd Stack (Cork)


Amanda Casey (Monaghan)
Louise Henchy (Clare)
Norita Kelly (Cork)
Denise Masterson (Dublin)
Juliet Murphy (Cork)
Alison Smyth (Longford)


Half Forward Line:
Edel Byrne (Monaghan)
Nollaig Cleary (Cork)
Eimear Considine (Clare)
Noelle Earley (Kildare)
Anne Marie McDonagh (Galway)
Emma Mullen (Mayo)
Mary Nevin (Dublin)
Amy O’Shea (Cork)
Shauna O’Hagan (Armagh)


Full Forward Line:
Sinéad Aherne (Dublin)
Una Carroll (Galway)
Lyndsey Davey (Dublin)
Joline Donnelly (Tyrone)
Niamh Kindlon (Monaghan)
Caroline Little (Fermanagh)
Ciara McAnaspie (Monaghan)
Valerie Mulcahy (Cork)
Cora Staunton (Mayo)





For Additional Information:


Michael O’Keeffe/Claire Turvey, Pembroke Communications: 01-6496486


Patricia Monahan, National Games Administrator

Tel: 01-8363156, 087-2523998 E: patricia@ladiesgaelic.ie

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs