2011 O'Neill's/TG4 All Stars Announced

2011 O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Football All Star Awards Cork and Monaghan Lead The Way Juliet Murphy Wins First Ever Senior Players’ Player of the Year Award

Senior All Ireland winners Cork collected six All Star awards at the 2011 O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Gaelic Football All Star Awards at the CityWest Hotel this weekend, while Senior runners up Monaghan scooped four awards.

Leinster champions Laois are represented by Tracey Lawlor and Mary Kirwan on the 2011 team, while Dublin also took home two awards for Elaine Kelly and Sinéad Aherne. Finally National League and Leinster Final runners up Meath, picked up one award for goalkeeper Irene Munnelly.

On a great night for Irish sport, John Treacy of the Irish Sports Council was the guest of honour at the prestigious event which was filmed live for deferred airing on TG4. Entertainment was provided on the night by Rebecca Storm and Brendan Grace amongst others while Marty Morrissey and Daithi Ó Sé emceed proceedings.

For the first time ever a Player’s Player of the Year Award was presented, one in each championship. The senior winner was Juliet Murphy of Cork, the intermediate winner was Áine Tighe of Leitrim, while in the junior championship Lucy Mulhall from Wicklow was judged by her peers to have been the stand out performer.

Other awards on the night included the Provincial Young Players of the Year Awards and the awards went to Sarah Rowe (Kimoremoy, Mayo), Michelle Farrell (Colmcilles, Longford), Laura Rogers (Austin Stack, Kerry) and Ciara McDermott (Magheracloone, Monaghan).

The induction of John Joe Brady into the Ladies Football Hall of Fame also took place on the night. John Joe has served as a referee, Ulster chairman, county manager with his native Cavan and coached a number of underage and development squads throughout the years.

He is currently vice chairman of the Cavan County Board and is also a member of the national fixtures committee and the Ulster Council delegate to the Central Council. The Mullahoran club man also gives tirelessly to his club in which he has served as chairman, manager, selector and caretaker and this is a richly deserved award.

Pat Quill, President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association, said “The 2011 All Star night was a fantastic success. We saw some of our top, most consistent players over the last decade receive further recognition of their individual talent and for some they accepted the honour for the first time in their career. The first Players’ Player of the Year for the three grades was also a wonderful addition to the event and a huge honour for the three girls who received the award.”

Pól Ó Gallchóir, Ceannasaí TG4, said, “It is hard to believe that we have now entered a second decade of partnership with Cumann Peil Gael na mBan and TG4 continues to be very proud of its ongoing sponsorship of the All-Ireland Senior, Intermediate and Junior Championships in this spectacular and attractive native Irish sport.

“This year TG4 provided live coverage of 17 Championship matches from late July to the All-Ireland Finals in Croke Park on the 25th of September and let’s not forget our two replays on the 9th October. This comprehensive coverage forms a key part of our overall coverage of major Ladies Gaelic Football fixtures and all of these matches can be viewed live, all over the world via the TG4 Player www.tg4.tv.

“Comhghairdeas leis na buaiteoirí ar fad anseo anocht. Bhí bliain den scoth againn i bPeil na mBan agus is iontach na rud é gur féidir laochra an spórt a mholadh sa tslí seo.”

Tony Towell, Managing Director of O’Neills, said “All praise to the hardworking people of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association who have ensured that the sport continues to grow and thrive. We congratulate you all on achieving this and are delighted to continue with our sponsorship of Cumann Peil Gael na mBan.

“Congratulations finally to the winners here tonight and as another year closes we look forward to making new friends and strengthening our partnership with Ladies Football in 2012”

2011 O’Neills/TG4 ALL STARS TEAM:

Goalkeeper: Irene Munnelly (Meath)

Right Corner Back: Gráinne McNally (Monaghan) Full Back: Sharon Courtney (Monaghan) Left Corner Back: Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork) Right Half Back: Briege Corkery (Cork) Centre Half Back: Bríd Stack (Cork) Left Half Back: Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)

Midfield: Juliet Murphy (Cork)

Midfield: Tracey Lawlor (Laois)

Right Half Forward: Therese McNally (Monaghan) Centre Half Forward: Elaine Kelly (Dublin) Left Half Forward: Mary Kirwan (Laois) Right Corner Forward: Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan) Full Forward: Rhona Ní Bhuachalla (Cork) Left Corner Forward: Sinéad Aherne (Dublin)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs