2017 Division 3 runners-up Wexford begin new season with vital win

Lidl National Football League Division 3 

Longford 2-5
Wexford 3-10

Wexford overcome Longford in their first round of division 3 in a windswept McGann Park, Kenagh, on Sunday. 

Longford put in a promising display against the 2017 Div 3 finalists with the killer blow coming in the last ten minutes when Wexford pierced a resilient Longford defence to get two goals.

Longford opened the scoring with a point from Aisling Green after 3 minutes, Wexford struck next with a free from their formidable free taker Catriona Murray who took all her frees from placed balls and she scored a further three points from frees.

Lauren Burke and Green added a further two points for Longford, Kellie Kearney, Ellen O’Brien and Aoife Sheil adding three more points for Wexford. 

Kearney found the Longford net when her shot sneaked in under the crossbar, with Green replying a minute later with a well taken goal for Longford. Longford had the advantage of an extra player for the last six minutes of the first half when Bernie Breen was sent to the sin bin.

Wexford enjoyed the greater amount of possession in the second half and came in waves at the Longford defence who gave a good account of themselves, only to be broken down in the last quarter when Wexford scored two goals from Maria Byrne and points from Fiona Bennett, Aoife Sheil and (sub) Cathy O’Brien. 

Longford scores in this half came from Aisling Green with a goal and points from (sub) Emer Heaney.

While all players performed very well there were some strong performances from Leanne Keegan, Mairead Moore,Niamh Darcy Cait Murphy and Aisling Green Longford and Kellie Kearney, Catriona Murray, Clara Donnelly Aoife Sheil and Maria Byrne Wexford.


Longford: M Bannon, M Kellegher, L Keegan, A Noonan, C Moore, N Darcy, C Farrell, M Reynolds, M Noonan, M Moore, E O’Brien, C Murphy, A Green, A Darcy, L Burke, M Creegan, A Cosgrove, C Allen, E Heaney, G O’Reilly, I Collins, L Mooney, M Reilly, N Feeney, S Reynolds, S Shannon.

Wexford: S Whelan, G Hearn, N Mernagh, M Doyle, C Donnelly, B Breen, R Murphy, K Kearney, N Moore, E O’Brien, C Murray N Butler, M R Kelly, A Drennan, C Ryan, A Wilson, C Fitzpatrick, F Rochford, R Bennett, C Martin, C Foxe, L Cousins, A Murphy, C O’Brien, A Byrne, S Murphy, S Harding Kenny.

Referee: Declan Carolan (Down)


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs