4 in a row for Cork under-14 team

Ladies Football Four in a row for Cork under 14 Girls. By
Fr.Liam Kelleher

Cork 7-12 Waterord 2-03.

Cork’s dominance of underage football continued at Kilmallock
on Saturday last when the under 14 girls cantered to their
4th Munster title in a row. Cork have not been beaten in
this grade since 1998 when Kerry defeated them before going
to win the All-Ireland title. In fact after that loss in
1998 to Kerry Cork went on take the Munster under 14 B crown.
It has been straight A’s for the rebel county since then.
Waterford came into this game with the benefit of 4 outings
while Cork had just one in their comprehensive Semi-Final
win over Kerry. Winning all their games in the All-Ireland
under 14 Blitz 2 weeks ago minus their star player Amanda
Muprhy, and scoring 14- 34 while conceding just 2-6 was
a massive boost to the Cork girls and apart from the early
part of the 2nd half on Saturday they were in full control.

Playing with the strong wind Cork settled very quickly and
by the 15th minute they had raced into a 2-05 lead, the
scores coming from Amanda Murphy 1-02 and the other points
from Jenny Luddy, Laura Harrington and Aine 0’Sulllivan,
Waterford were at sixes and sevens as Cork ran riot. Sensing
that their task was completed Cork somehow ,lost their way,
for the remainder of the half scoring just 2 more points.
Waterford came more into the game and although they only
managed a point from their many attacks they gave evidence
that they could be a factor with the wind to their backs
in the 2nd period.

Bright start.

They did make a very bright start to the 2nd half and within
3 minutes they had reduced the deficit by a goal and a point,
the goal coming from the penalty spot from Julia Kirwan.
Realising that their title could be in jeopardy Cork upped
the ante and with brilliant defending from Vicky Power Claire
O’Leary Orla O’Sullivan and Roisin O’Sullivan the Waterford
forwards were given no further latitude. Cork mounted wave
after wave of attack and the scores came thick and fast.
Outstanding Rhona Buckley found the net 4 times one from
the penalty spot to add to her goal in the first half and
with further goals form Jenny Luddy and Noelle Corkery Cork
ran out very easy winners in the end. Rhona Buckley who
scored 5-1 was later named player of the match. The game
was well handled by Tipperary refereee Richie O’Connor who
applied the rules in a strict manner.

Cork Panel:
Antoinette O’Connor St Vals, Claire O’Leary,
Kilmeen, Vicky Power Beara, Emer O’Donovan Aghada, Patricia
Murphy Mourneabbey, Orla O’Sullivan, Dunmanus Rovers, Roisin
O’Sullivan, Mourneabbey, Laura Harrington Mourneabbey, 0-2
Linda Barrett Donoughmore, Tracy Mullane Liscarroll, Amanda
Murphy Beara,1-3 Jenny Luddy Mourneabbey,1-2 Aine O’Sullivan
Beara 0-3 Capt Rhona Buckley Naomh Fionbarra, 5-1 Noelle
Corkery Naomh Aban, 1-0 Ciara O’Sullivan Mourneabbey,0-1
Ellen Healy St Vals, Orla Crowley Castlehaven, Emma Hanley
Beara, Denise Murphy Rockban, Ella Ryan Lisgoold, Ciara
Hegarty Illen Rovers, Orla Deasy Valley Rovers,0-1 Ciara
Murphy Beara Sandra Conroy Mourneabbey, Grace Kearney Bride
Rovers, Ann O’Donovan Valley Rovers, Emma Murphy Beara,
Theresa Crowley Naomh Fionbarra.

Team Managemnt: Justin McCarthy, Manager, Mike Murphy
Coach, Eileen O’Brien Fitness, Fr. Liam Kelleher, Charlie
McLaughlin. Waterford Aimee Jordan, Michaela O’Grady Michelle
O’Gorman, Niamh McGrath, Gillian McGrath, Kerry Dunphy,
Kate Kirwan, Julia Kirwan, Kate Feeney, Mairead Wall, Lenore
Kirwan, Roisin Manahan, Catherine Powe,r Shona Curran, Julia
Buest. Gillian Frewen, Bronagh O’Dobovan, Sarah Kiely, Eimear
Scanlon, Eilish Dunphy, Siobhan Kavanagh, Laura Power, Ciara
Murray, Collen Hayes, Kate O’Neill, Elma Nugent, Una Murray,
Louise Prendergast. Management Johhny Kirwan Manager, Nora
Kirwan John Frewen, Leigh Mulhearne, Peter Jordan.

Munster Plate Final Clare 3-11 Tipperary 3-9 Cork games.

On Wednesday of this week Cork take on Waterford In the
first round of the Munster Minor Championship. This will
a huge test for Cork who will travel to Waterford to take
on the Deise girls who are Munster Champions for the past
4 years. Cork have a very strong panel with 12 from the
Senior squad and 10 from Junior squad on their squad.

Munster senior. This year the Munster Senior Championship
is being run on a round robin basis with each of the 4 Senior
teams playing each other once. Cork face Clare in their
opening game on Saturday at Ardfinnan. Cork who defeated
Clare, the then reigning champions will be anxious to get
their campaign off to a winning start. The top 2 teams after
the round robin series contest the Munster Final.

Cork Sponsorship There has been a fine response for the
opportunity to Sponsor the Cork Ladies Football teams applications
to be included in the special draw close this week-end.
Cork are already Munster Under 14 and 16 Champions this
year and All-Ireland under 14 Blitz winners, National league
Div 2 Winners and runners up in the National Div 3 final.
If you would like to have a chance to have your name on
the Cork Jersey for €100 contact Fr. Liam Kelleher at 087-8516984

Week-end results. Under 14 Co Cahmpionships Castlemagner
4-11 Donoughmore 2-08 Kinsale 3-10 Lisgoold 4-6 Naomh Fionbarra
7-7 Glanworth 0-3 Under 21 Final Replay After Extra time
St Vals 2-15 Imokilly 4-8

FR Liam Kellehr PRO 087-8516984

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs