A First for Moville While St Eunan's Eye Ten In A Row

A First for Moville While St Eunan’s Eye Ten In A Row


was Semi-Final day on Sunday last in the Donegal Senior Championship.
In the end St Eunan’s marched on and now find themselves on the
verge of claiming their tenth county title in a row. However standing
in their way will be the new kids on the block Moville as they
get ready for their first ever Senior Final.

In Ballyboffey St Eunan’s overcame Four Masters 3-07 to 0-07 with
Anne Doherty contributing all three majors. Her first came in
the opening half to help the Letterkenny side lead 1-05 to 0-03
at the interval. Four Masters enjoyed at lot of the second half
possession but with Doherty hitting at goal at the start and end
of the second period they could not find anyway back. The Eunan’s
defence deserving special praise also for a great afternoons work
and especially during the second period when they were under a
lot of pressure.

St Eunan’s: Joanna Connelly, Sinead McCormack, Stephanie
Crampsie, Bernie Cunningham, Marisa Bryce, Sharon Greene, Sonya
Doherty, Siobhan Mollahan, Andrea McDaid, Angie Callaghan, Nadine
Doherty (0-02), Emer O’Herlihy (0-03), Suzanne Tinney, Anne Doherty
(3-01), Donna Kavanagh (0-01)
Subs Used: Lorraine O’Sullivan, Danielle McDaid
Four Masters: Michelle Henney, Yvonne Bushell, Niamh Britton,
Kathryn Martin, Emma Lawne, Donna Dunnion, Lisa Duffy, Kelly Lacey,
Bridgin Carr, Leanne Shovlin (0-01), Gina McGowan, Edel Duffy,
Emer Carr (0-01), Laura Quinn (0-03,2f), Patrice Rooney (0-02,f)

Subs Used: Shauna McGroarty

Meanwhile in Letterkenny Moville saw off the challenge of Ardara
2-10 to 1-09 in a very entertaining encounter. A goal by Carmel
Boyle helped Ardara to a single point half time lead 1-03 to 0-05.
Points from Niamh Hegarty and Maria Doherty put Moville back in
the driving seat but Ardara now moved up a gear to open up a four
point Geraldine Harkin fired in a goal for the Moville girls and
a further major from the excellent Niamh Hegarty were the scores
that seen Moville come out on top. The Final is set for Sunday
4th September and an eagerly awaited one it is.

Moville: Lisa Burns; Stacey Cavanagh, Maria Faulkner, Meadhbh
Bovaird; Gemma Faulkner, Donna McDermott, Jenny Craig; Aoife Hegarty,
Aoife McLaughlin; Sarah Faulkner (0-01), Niamh Hegarty (1-04),
Katie Norris (0-01), Marie Kelly, Maria Doherty (0-07), Geraldine
Harkin (1-01).
Subs: Donna Crumlish for D McDermott; Ciara Hegarty for
M Kelly; Anita Doherty (0-01) for M Doherty
Ardara: Caroline Breslin; Rebecca Watters, Maeve O’Donnell,
Sharon Kilbane; Maura McHugh, Stephanie Sweeney, Aoife Waters;
Charlene McHugh (0-01), Aoife McDonald (0-03); Tanya Barrett,
Mairead Gallagher (0-01), Mairead Waters (0-01); Carol Breslin
(0-02), Ciara Mooney, Carmel Boyle (1-01).

Gunn (PR Committee)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs