Ahern stars in Dublins Leinster Final victory

Ahern stars in Dublins Leinster Victory

Dublin 5-8  Kildare 0-12

Dublin collected their fifth TG4 Leinster senior football championship crown on Sunday last in Dr. Cullen Park, after running out convincing winners over Kildare. Dublin hot shot Sinead Ahern proved to be too much of a handful for the Kildare backs, the St. Sylvesters club player amassed a total of three goals and four points to pull the rug from beneath the Lilywhites.
Ahern’s most crucial strikes came at the end of the third quarter with two unstoppable goals and one point with in two minutes to give the Jackies a ten point commanding lead (5-5 to 0-10). Ahern could have had raised the green flag for the fourth time, but for an excellent save from Therese Martin in the Kildare goals to deny Ahern. Kildare’s star player Aisling Jennings tagged on two late points, out of a personal tally of seven for the game, to keep the lilywhites in touch with the Dubs.
But with Niamh Hurley, Lyndsey Peat and Ahern adding one apiece in the final minutes the ‘Mary Ramsbottom’ cup was heading back to the Capital for another year.

There was very little between the sides in the first period, with only three points separating the sides at the break 2-3 to 0-6, but in fairness to Kildare, Dublin were slowly building up a head of steam as the game moved into the third quarter, and when Ahern turned  the screws in the forty fifth minute the writing was on the wall for Kildare, and although they did not give up the chase, the game was over as a competition.

Denise Masterson received the  ‘Mary Ramsbottom’ cup from Leinster President Sean McMullin, with Sinead Ahern stepping up to collect the Player of the final for the second year in succession.

Dublin scorers: S Aherne 3-4, M Nevin & L Peat 1-1 each, E Kelly & L Davey 0-1 each.
Kildare scorers: A Jennings 0-7, G Behan 0-2, L Keatley, A Herbert & D Gately 0-1 each.

Dublin: Cliondha O’Connors, Louise Kidd, Noelle Comyn, Marie Kavanagh, Colleen Barrett, Sorcha Furlong, Avril Cluxton, Lynsey Peat, Mary Nevin, Denise Masterson (Capt), Amy McGuinness, Kim Flood, Niamh Hurley, Sinead Ahern, Elaine Kelly, Subs; Natalia Hyland for Kim Flood, Lyndsey Davey for Elaine Kelly, Niamh McEvoy for Mary Nevin, Siobhan McGrath for Niamh Hurley.
Kildare: Theresa Martin, Donna Barry, Orla O’Shea, Clodagh Flanagan, Paula Keatley, Maria Moolick, Louise Keatley, Brianne Leahy, Aisling Holton (Capt), Aoife Herbert, Noelle Earley, Aisling Jennings, Tracey Noone, Deirdre Gately, Gillian Behan. Subs: Kiri Lowry for louise Keatley,Christine Newton for Gillian Behan.

Referee : Des McEnery (Westmeath)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs