Aherne, Tighe and Mulhall take 2011 Golden Boot honours

2011 Golden Boot Awards Presented in Croke Park 
The TG4 Junior and Intermediate All Ireland Final Replays marked the end of this year’s Ladies Football Golden Boot competition, in association with the Sunday Independent and PUMA.
The competition recognises the top scorers in each of the three Ladies Football Championships and at a special lunch in Croke Park today, Dublin’s Sinéad Aherne, Leitrim’s Aine Tighe and Lucy Mulhall of Wicklow were presented with a specially commissioned trophy, a pair of PUMA King boots and a selection of PUMA leisure gear.
Sinéad Aherne who scored an impressive 1-6 in Dublin’s TG4 All-Ireland quarter-final loss against Cork won the senior prize. Despite Aherne exiting from the Championship at the quarter-final stage, the St Sylvester’s forward’s 19 point tally could not be surpassed, despite the efforts of Monaghan’s Catriona McConnell and Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh of Kerry.
In the Intermediate Golden Boot competition, Aine Tighe edged out Dymphna O’Brien by a single point to take the honors. The Kiltubrid forward’s tally of 56 points which included an incredible 3-7 during Leitrim’s TG4 Intermediate Championship semi-final loss against Cavan was enough to hold off last year’s Junior Championship winner O’Brien.
Finally, the Junior Golden Boot table saw Wicklow team mates Lucy Mulhall and Caoilfhionn Deeney battling it out all the way to the final. In the end Mulhall  went into the All Ireland replay with a 7 point advantage and scored 1-3 in the Garden County’s victory over New York to ensure that she took the spoils with 35 points.
FINAL Golden Boot Top Three Scorers 2011
NAME                                     G          P          Ttl
S Aherne (Dublin)                    2          13        19
C McConnell (Monaghan)       1          13        16
L Ní Mhuircheartaigh (Kerry)  3          6          15
A Tighe (Leitrim)                     8          32        56
D O’Brien (Limerick)               10        25        55       
F Gettings (Longford)              4          36        48
L Mulhall (Wicklow)                6          17        35
C Deeney (Wicklow)               3          14        23
F Rochford (Wexford)              4          9          21

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs