All Ireland Junior Championship semi-final Louth v Limerick

All Ireland Junior Championship semi-final
Louth v Limerick

Louth 2-7 Limerick 4-11
Three Goals and eleven points from Limerick’s all star corner forward Dymphna O’Brien, and a goal from Louise Higgins pulled the plug on Louth’s hopes of a place in the TG4 all Ireland junior championship final, when both sides met on Saturday last (29th August) in Geraldine Park, Athy.
The first half was a close affair, with only a single point separating the sides at the break (1-7 to 2-5) in Louths favour, and the Wee county seemed to have the upper hand in the match as the game went in to the second period.
But the game took a twist in Limericks favour early in the second half when Louth lost the services of their influential Captain Edel McKeown Sloane, the number twelve was ordered to serve ten minutes in the sin bin by referee Gavin Corrigan.
Limerick exploited the gap left by Sloane’s departure, Dymphna O’Brien adding a goal and two points to open a five point lead (2-10 to 2-5), O’Brien was in unstoppable form; at times the Gerald Griffin club player not only mesmerised the Louth back line with her pace and agility, but also those watching the game had trouble tracking the number fifteen.
The gap could have been greater at this stage but for an excellent save from Louth keeper Caoimhe Breen, and a penalty miss by O’Brien, just before Sloane was called back in to action.
Limerick found another gear in the final quarter as O’Brien pressurised the Louth back line in to submission with a further two goals and a point, Louth could only manage to raise the white flag on two occasion in the second half, as Limerick ran out comfortable winners to book their place in the TG4 all Ireland Junior final on the 27th of September in Croke Park, where they will face Antrim, the Saffrons beat Derry 3-9 to 2-6 in the second semi-final.
The Wee County must now regroup as they prepare to take on Wicklow in the TG4 Leinster junior final replay on Sunday next (6th Sept) in Clane GAA club, with the ball throwing in at 1.30pm.
Louth : Caoimhe Breen, Emer Brennan, Sarah Quinn, Ciara Rafferty, Grainne Mackin, Grace Lynch, Jenny Agnew, Orlaith Kirk (0-1), Sandra Lynch (1-0), Rosanna Heeney (0-2f), Catherine Page (1-2), Edel McKeown Sloane( 0-1, ( C ), Susan Byrne, Niamh Reid, Sharon Callan, Tara Lynch, Laura O’Neill (0-1), Emma Conlon, Patricia Marmoin.
Limerick; Ella O’Shaughnessy, Maggie O’Brien, Sandra Healy, Sandra Larkin, Emma McGuire, Hazel Fogarty, Olivia Giltenane, Siobhan Maloney, Janet Garvey, Paula Donnelly, Leanne Higgins, Theresa Mulcaire, Sinead Fitzpatrick, Louise Higgins (1-0), Dymphna O’Brien (3-11). Mary Ita Casey (C ).
Referee: Gavin Corrigan (Down)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs