All Ireland U-14 B Final

All Ireland U-14 B Final
13th June 2010

( Leinster PRO Michael Forde )
Wexford 4-8 Tipperary 4-6

Just when it looked as through the All Ireland U-14 B title was heading to the Premier County
A strike on goal by player of the match Ciara Rossiter followed by an excellent point from Ellen O’Brien in the dying seconds of the game was enough to give Wexford the All Ireland U-14 B title.
Wexford took the lead on two occasions in the game, once in the twenty sixth minute when Amy Cardiff fired home a well struck goal to put the Model county one point clear , but the side from the sunny South East allowed Tipperary to come back with a goal from Sara Ryan, to put Tipp two points clear at the break (3-1 to 3-3).
The second time Wexford got their nose in front, the clock was heading in to the red when Rossiter hit the back of Amy Jordans net with a sweetly struck left footed strike to put a point between the sides (4-7 to 4-6) in Wexfords favour, this time round they learn their lesson and held their nerve, with Ellen O’Brien tapping over an insurance point to give Wexford the title.
Saturday’s game was an epic battle, with the large group of supporter, being kept on the edge of their seats until the final whistle, Tipperary will be very disappointed, the Premier side were on top for the majority of the game, they got off to a great start with Sara Everard and Brid Condon raising the green flag, while their number eleven Aisling McCarthy notching up their first point of the game and were seven points clear with just ten minutes on the clock (2-1 to 0-0).
Tipperary were fully focused and they put the Wexford defense under extreme pressure from the throw in, Wexford needed to put a marker down, and it needed to happen sooner rather than later if they were to get a foothold in the game, and in the thirteenth minute their number thirteen Ciara Rossiter fired home her first goal of the game, to reel Tipps lead back to four points (2-1 to 1-0).
A minute later, Wexford keeper Katie Lawor was called in to action to deny Edel Nyland a certain goal, Tipperary continued to press, and it was Lawlor who kept Wexford in touch with a reflex save, pushing a goal bound shot from Sarah Ryan over the bar, to open a six point lead (2-3 to 1-0) in Tipps favour, at the end of the first quarter.
Wexford turned up the pressure in the second quarter, with, Chloe Foxe , Amy Cardiff and Ciara Rossiter adding two goals and a point to put the Model county ahead (3-1 to 3-2) by a single point, however Tipperary’s Sarah Ryan hit back in the last seconds of the half with a nicely struck shot that lodged in the back of the Wexford net to give her side a two point lead at the break (3-3 to 3-1).
Wexford started the second half with all guns blazing, with Rossiter and O’Brien combining to notch up three points in as many minutes to go one point clear (3-4 to 3-3). Two minute later the sides were level for the second time in the game, when Edel Nyland tagged on her first point in the game.
For the next seven minutes the score board operator was given a rest as both teams battled hard to gain the upper hand, in midfield Tipps Eimear Bartley and Maria Curley competed with Geraldine Doolan and Aodhnait Kehoe, with players from either side giving an inch in their quest for dominance in the centre of the field.
Tipperay’s Sarah Everard broke the stalemate in the forty third minute, when her lobbed shot from out on the left of the large parallelogram dropped under Lawlor’s cross bar, Aisling McCarthy followed up with a point to give Tipp a four point cushion (4-5 to 3-4) as the game moved in to the final quarter.
For both sets of fans the last fifteen minutes was at least nail biting, Wexford searched for an extra gear, as both sides made the final push for the finish line.
Wexford’s break came when Rossiter and O’Brien tapped over a point apiece from frees, to reduce the gap to two (4-5 to 3-6), with less that six minutes remaining Tipperary’s Aisling McCarthy tapped over another point to put three between the side, seconds later Rossiter hit back with a well struck point, when the call went out from the line “Ciara we need a goal” and with the clock ticking in to the red, Rossiter fired the ball to the back of the Tipperary net , Ellen O’Brien added the final point of the game to send the All Ireland U-14 B trophy back to the Model County after a ten year absence.
Wexford captain Elsa McDermott stepped up to receive the All Ireland U-14 B cup from Pat Quill, President, Cumann Peil Gael na mBan, while the player of the match award went to Wexfords number thirteen Ciara Rossiter. The referee on the day was Pat Hansbury from Galway.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs