All Square In Cavan Decider

All Square In Cavan Decider


destination of the 2005 Cavan ladies Senior Championship sponsored
by Don Smiths Bar Cootehill was left undecided after both Lurgan
and Erne Valley played out a 0-08 a piece draw at Kingspan Breffni
Park on Sunday last. Lurgan got off to a blistering start with
the opening four points of the game from Claragh O’Reilly (2),
Vanessa Brady and Michelle Cole. Despite the Lurgan side leading
it was Erne Valley that enjoyed much more of the procession but
wasteful shooting was letting them down.

The Valley had fired eight the wrong side of the upright before
Breda Smith finally got them off the mark on twenty one minutes.
Paula Fitzpatrick added a second soon after before Grainne O’Shaughnessy
pointed for Lurgan. Smith fired over her second of the game to
leave the score at the break Lurgan 0-05 Erne Valley 0-03. Erne
Valley almost hit the front seconds after the resumption with
Lurgan keeper Leanne doughty standing firm to beat away a point
blank shot from Jenny Fitzpatrick. It was at the other end the
opening score arrived with O’Reilly sending over a free. Patricia
Lynch and O’Reilly exchanged points to keep three between them
just five minutes into the half. Paula Fitzpatick reduced the
deficit to one with two converted free’s after a blistering opening
ten minutes of the second period. Nicola Dwyer edged Lurgan two
clear again before Niamh Fitzpatrick reduced it to the minimum
seconds after coming off the bench at the end of the third quarter.

The scores began to dry up and so it was we only had one further
point seven minutes from time with Paula Fitzpatrick pointing
an equalising free. Both sides had chances of the winner but not
come and they must do it all again. Elsewhere Templeport collected
the Junior crown after overcoming Killinkere 3-09 to 1-12 after
trailing the midway point. They now face Monaghan champions Clones
in the Ulster campaign.

Erne Valley: Patricia Beglan, Niamh Reilly, Julie Anne
Sheridan, Aisling Harton, Niamh Brennan, Patricia Lynch (0-01),
Lisa O’Reilly, Claire McPhillips, Emer Reilly, Laura Pearson,
Breda Smith (0-02), Jenny Fitzpatrick, Aine Brady, Julie Anne
Brady, Paula Fitzpatrick (0-04,f)
Subs: Niamh Fitzpatrick (0-01) for A Brady, Mona Sheridan
for C McPhillips (43mins)
Lurgan: Leanne Doughty, Ailbhe Hetherton, Laura Hanratty,
Fiona Murphy, Edel Gaffney, Anne Hanratty-Lynch, Grainne O’Shaughnessy
(0-01), Michelle Cole (0-01,f), Claire Carpenter, Philly McDermott,
Claragh O’Reilly (0-04,2f) Vanessa Brady (0-01), Ciara Brady,
Nicola Dwyer (0-01), Eimear Gilsenan
Subs: Laura McEnroe for E Gilsenan (52min)

Alan Gunn (PR Committee)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs