All the latest news from Fr Kelleher

Inch Rovers take Co Junior Title
Inch Rovers 1-12 Liscarroll 2-3

Despite amassing a massive 32 wides over the hour, Inch
Rovers got the better of hapless Liscarroll in this absorbing
Cork Co Junior B final at Mourneabbey on Saturday evening.
Since the Inch club from the Killeagh district, was reformed
a few years ago, they have been making steady progress,indeed
they ran subsequent Munster Champions Gabriel Rangers very
close in the Junior A Championship.

Inch started the better and had 2 points on the board through
Mairead Kennedy and Angela Walsh by the 10th minute. Then
Liscarroll in 2 lightning raids, gave themselves hope, when
Dolores 0’Sullivan struck for a goal and then a point hit
on the run, side footing over the bar. Linda Twomey added
a point. Inch fought back for a series of points and a decisive
goal from Karen Walsh just before the break to give them
a 1-8 to 1-2 interval lead.

Liscarrroll started the 2nd half in determined fashion and
a well worked goal when Elaine O’Riordan, passed the ball
inside to Mary T Foley who goaled. This was as good as it
got for them and Inch tagged on the necessary points to
give them a comfortable win. Inch produced a fine overall
performance despite their many misses and in Angela Walsh
they had then outstanding player on view. Liscarroll after
4 final losses will be wondering what they have to do to
win this title. A jubilant Inch Capt Mairead Kennedy received
the cup from Co Chairman Steven Lynch and she paid particular
thanks to their coach Noel O’Connor for his commitment to
the team. John O’Keefe did an excellent job on the whistle.

Fiona O’Driscoll 0-3 Karen Walsh 1-0 Mairead Kennedy
0-3 Angela Walsh 0-2 Anne Marie Walsh 0-2 Katie Kelleher
0-1 Elaine Walsh 0-1
Liscarroll. Dolores O’Sullivan 1-1 Mary T Foley 1-0
Linda Twomey 0-1. Elaine O’Riordan O-1

Inch Rovers
Aisling Keniry, Emma Fogarty, Gearoidin
Kearney, Liz Sweetman, Angela Walsh, Ciara Walsh, Annie
Walsh, Aine McCarthy, Ann Marie Walsh, Katie Kelleher, Karen
Walsh, Una Fitzgerald, Fiona O’Driscoll, Elaine Walsh, Mairead
Kennedy capt, Carmel Deane, Caroline O’Keefe, Deirdre Fitzgerald,
Carol Galvin, Siobhan Kearney, Rhona Kelly, Marion Fogarty,
Elizabeth Fitzgerald.
Liscarroll: Deirdre Shanahan, Karen O’Reilly, Rose
Brennan, Gina O’Callaghan, Siobhan Stokes, Ann Marie Hudner,
Ann 0’Brien, Tracy Mullane, Linda Twomey, Dolores O’Sullivan,
Mary T Foley, Michelle O’Keefe, Anette Egan, Norma Healy,
Elaine O’Riordan. Catriona O’Connell, Sarah Breen, Kathleen
Flaherty, Eileen O’Brien, Claire Heffernan, Sarah Hegarty,
Eimear Murphy, Vicky Hallinan, Eleanor O’Brien.

Result Co minor Semi Final St Vals 3-12 Donoughmore 1-9

Munster minor Blitz.
Dromtariffe win.
Dromtariffe who came into the competition at very short
notice, instead of St Vals, went on to win the Munster Minor
blitz when they had a thrilling win over Southern Gaels
of Kerry in the final at Rathkeale on Monday. Trailing by
2-5 to 0-5 at half-time the North Cork girls staged a great
2nd half recovery to run out worthy winners on a score line
of of 4-8 to 3-9 Two Cork teams in action in Club Championship
Cork teams Gabriel Rangers Junior and Naomh Abán Intermediate
are in action in the All-Ireland Club Semi-finals this weekend.

Naomh Abán make the long journey to Derry to take on Ulster
Champions Glen of Derry. On the form displayed in their
Munster final win over Cappawhite the gaeltacht girls are
quite capable of reaching the decider. The same can be said
of Gabriel Rangers, they take on Moneyglass of Monaghan
in the Junior game at Castlehaven on Sunday with a 12 noon
throw in. Urged on no doubt by what should be a huge home
following the Gabriels girls will be quietly confident of
making it to the final. Both clubs will be worthy representatives
of Cork and Munster.

Going to the dogs.
On this Thursday night, the 3rd annual night at the dogs
at Curraheen Park, to raise money for the Co Board. will
take place. With Cork’s huge success and the success of
the clubs there should be a big turnout. There is great
value for a 20 euro ticket. Entrance to the track, a sponsorship,
share in your own dog and a raffle for 2,500 euros. The
starting time is 7.45, and there are 10 races with over
5,000 euros in prize money on offer. The feature race with
1,200 euros for lst will be over the 525 distance and is
sponsored by Cashman’s Bookmakers. If you you need more
information give Race Organiser Fr. Liam Kelleher a ring
at 087-8516984.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs