2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

All the latest news from the New York Ladies

the Latest news from New York




Guest of Honor: Ann Leyden (Na Fianna)
Player of the Year: Denise Dunnion (Kerry/Donegal)
Sean Faherty Championship MVP: Patti McGrail (Mayo)
Annie Kearney Cup MVP: Fiona Ward (Mayo)
Peter Connuaghton Cup MVP: Bennie Tuohey (Monaghan)
Budweiser Players of the Month: April: Denise Dunnion
(Kerry Donegal), May: Allison Traynor (Cavan) June: Orlagh
Cullen (Cavan), July: Mary Cooney (Kerry/Donegal) August:
Lynda Donnelly (Mayo).


As the 2005 season was getting underway, preparations
for the CYC games, to be hosted by San Fran, were already
in full swing. With attendance growing every year – the
weekend was anticipated with great excitement.

Each of our teams (U-12, U-14 & U-16) battled through
their games – and all successfully reached the finals.
After some impressive displays of football – the U-16’s
retained their title from last year and the U-14’s lifted
their first ever trophy. The girls all played their hearts
out, and it was refreshing to see how their skills developed
and improved over the course of each game. Congratulations
to all involved especially the coaching staff who traveled
with the team:- Catherine O’Malley, Ann Holland, Louise
Fox, Teresa Reilly, Joanne Monaghan and Eleanor Fox. Many
Thanks also to all those who have helped and contributed
to the continued success and growth of the Gaelic 4 Girls
program which is vital to the development of Ladies Football
in New York.

The Mayo Ladies will look back on 2005 with great joy
– not only did they successfully retain the Annie Kearney
Cup but they also captured the Sean Faherty Championship
and became the first New York Ladies team to win the Long
Island Beach 7’s. Mayo had All-Star performances from
veteran players Colette McGoldrick, Louise Fox and Fiona
Ward, and from Joanne Monaghan, Lynda Donnelly, and Summer
Players’ Briege Daly, Ger and Kelly Roche all playing
a vital role in Mayo’s successful year.

The Monaghan Ladies clinched the Peter Connaughton Cup
for the 2nd year running after a tough contest with a
battling Rockland side. The Franey women had impressive
displays coming from Edel Bailey, Nicola White and Sisters
Mena & Bennie Tuohey.

The Mattie Farrelly 7-a-side was once again won by the
Cavan Ladies, who also retained the Louie O’Hehir League
Title. They were however overcome by a stronger Mayo side
in the Sean Faherty Championship and Annie Kearney Cup
Finals. Impressive for Cavan this year were Orlagh Cullan,
Rosie Reilly and summer sanctions Linda McKeown and Ciara
McDermott Kerry/Donegal were busy over the winter months,
successfully recruiting Denise Dunnion, Sue Bennett and
Shuvaun Neville and coupled with the capable Mary Cooney,
Aoife Gibson and Summer Player Noelle Earl, they were
able to line out with a strong team. However they were
knocked out of the Annie Kearney Cup after replaying Cavan.

Rockland fought hard this year, and despite reaching yet
another Peter Connaughton Final – they fell short at the
last hurdle -falling to a determined Monaghan side. With
strong performances from Amanda McShane, Jonnie Foley
and Summer player Allison Smith. At the start of the year,
The Na Fianna Ladies lost Lorraine Leacy, one of their
key players, however they settled quickly after the introduction
of their summer players onto the panel. Unfortunately
after a tough sean faherty semi -final they were narrowly
defeated by Cavan. Na Fianna had strong performance from
Finola McConnell, Allison Leyden, Katrina Lynch and Summer
Players Mary O’Rouke, Lynda Wall.

The Fermanagh Ladies continue to improve with every year.
They were unfortunate after a tough battle in the semi-final
against Rockland not to have reached the Peter Connuaghton
Cup Final this year. With players like Katrina Coyle,
Caroline Murphy and Summer Players Claire McElroy, Yvette
Fox and Janet Noone no doubt they will be en-route to
their first final very soon.

This years Railway cup was the curtain raiser for the
Ulster Hurling Championship match. The game proved to
be one of the toughest contests for the John Dunican Memorial
Cup with both sides being evenly lined out. The Lenister/Munster
team, after 60 minutes of great football, put a stop to
the Ulster/Connaught side winning for a fourth year in
a row. Congratulations to Ger Rice who was awarded MVP
for the match.

Nine teams participated in the Eleventh annual Budweiser
Seven-a-side Tournament, which was held Memorial Weekend
in Van Cortlandt. Allison Traynor was MVP for the Mattie
Farrelly Final, where Cavan beat Mayo (A) 5-4 to 2-1 and
Kelly Roche was MVP for the Barry Fitzgerald Final with
Mayo (B)beating Boston Roscommon.

A big thanks to the Boston teams who made the trip down
to New York to partake in the day’s games. The interest
in the New York 7’s is growing, with teams from Ireland
and Canada already showing an interest in taking part
next year Seven teams

Eleanor Fox


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs