Annual Gala Dinner & Awards Evening

Dublin Ladies Gaelic Football – Annual Gala Dinner & Awards Evening –
Sponsored by O’Neill’s

The O’Neills Dublin Awards and Gala Night tool place in the hallowed grounds on Jones’s Road on Friday night 7th November.

240 Dubs packed the Mezz in the Hogan Stand for a night to celebrate a year of achievement in Ladies Gaelic Football in the Capital.

Guests of Honour included several past Chairpersons who were presented with mementos of their contribution. O’Neills our event sponsors, were represented by Mr.Tony Towell, managing director. Also present were Uachtaráin Cumann Peil Gael na mBan Geraldine Giles and the Dublin Camogie Minor and Adult Chairpersons. John Costello, County Secretary represented the GAA.

There was of course a Standing Ovation for our All Ireland Winners, the Dublin Minors before proceedings were under way.

In his opening address, Camillus Kilpatrick welcomed the distinguished guests, members and players to the celebration. “There is a buzz in the air” he said before calling on his predecessors to come forward for their mementos.

A new award this year was made to Clubs. In his address, County Secretary Eugene Egan commenting on enthusiasm, commitment and motivation said “We are honouring those members in their Clubs who committed themselves to making improvements and whose success we are marking.” Mentors, Officials, and members who put their Clubs first and who attended the seminars, training courses, refereeing skills and who introduced new concepts such as ‘Ready Steady Play’ and ‘Gaelic4Mothers’ are to be recognised for their commitment. The awards in their categories went to

Whitehall Colmcilles

St.Sylvester’s Malahide


The overall winner of ‘Best Club of 2008′ was awarded on the County’s behalf by Tony Towell to Clontarf. Accepting the award on behalf of her Club, Sue Lillis said that the Club of the Year award was a wonderful idea and showed the commitment of the County Board to its Clubs and the people who made them work behind the scenes.

In his address, Tony Towell of O’Neills said that it was an honour and privilege to support the efforts made by the County Board on behalf of its Clubs and over 5000 players in Dublin.

Before calling on the successful teams to collect their medals, the County Chairperson, Camillus Kilpatrick thanked the Minor Team management under Dave Cullen for their dedication to the Team over the past three years which resulted in an All Ireland victory this year. A special award was made to the manager and his selectors to mark the occasion.

Accepting the award Dave Cullen paid tribute to his selectors. He especially thanked the parents of the girls, many of whom were in attendance, for their support and commitment to their daughters and without this support the achievements wouldn’t be possible. Echoing the earlier awards, he said that the support given by clubs in providing facilities for training and pitches for matches was invaluable to him and his staff. He wished the girls well in their future careers as well as in football and called them forward for their medals.

The All Ireland winners: – Hannah Tyrell (Round Towers Clondalkin), Rachel Nugent (Ballyboden St Endas), Aoife Burke (St Judes), Karen McGlynn (Skerries Harps) Shona Barrett capt. (St. Brigids), Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock/Cabinteely), Sinead O’ Mahony (Skerries Harps), Niamh McEvoy (St. Sylvesters), Amy Connolly (Foxrock Cabinteely), Fiona Hudson (Fingallians), Natalia Hyland (Ballyboden St. Endas), Noelle Healy (St Brigids), Arlene Cushen (Na Fianna), Sinead Cullen (Skerries Harps), Deborah Geraghty (Castleknock) Ciara Ryan (Scoil Ui Chonaill), Amy Ring (Foxrock/Cabinteely) Vicky Browne (Fingallians), Orlagh Egan (Na Fianna), Enya Farrell (St. Brigids), Sinead Cumiskey (Parnells) Phillippa Green (Kilmacud Crokes), Rachael Byrne (Clanna Gael Fontenoy), Kirstie McArdle (Foxrock/Cabinteely), Shauna Gorman (Ratoath), Niamh Keane (Clann Mhuire) and Alyssa Quinn (Kilmacud Crokes) were presented with their Leinster and All Ireland medals by An tUachtaráin, Cumann Peil Gael na mBan, Geraldine Giles.

Finally, Dave announced the ‘Players Player of the Year’ which was awarded to Niamh Mc Evoy (St.Sylvester’s) and the ‘Player of the Year’ was awarded to Noelle Healy (St Brigids)

Paul McLoughlin, Manager Senior ‘B’ Team outlined the success of the squad in getting to and been narrowly beaten by Cork in the Aisling McGing All Ireland Cup. He paid tribute to the Cork management and players for their support and messages of goodwill towards one of our Dublin girls who is ill. “It is gestures such as these which make it all so worthwhile. This is sportsmanship at its very best” he said. He paid tribute to his management team, Craig Mulligan and Kathleen Colreavy who had made the trip to an All Ireland possible. After the medals had been presented, Paul announced the ‘Players Player of the Year’ which was awarded to Aine Deasy (Fingallians) and the ‘Player of the Year’ recipient was Fiona Walshe (St Finian’s Swords)

Dublin had recaptured a Senior Leinster title and manager, Gerry McGill took the stage to thank the County Chairperson and his colleagues for their support. The highlight of the year in the National League was the defeat of the All Ireland Senior Champions, Cork in their own back yard in Mallow. Following on from this, a Leinster Championship victory was on the cards and winning it back was a tribute to the commitment of the players he said. He acknowledged the role of his selectors, coaches and physios who had provided the backup. The girls were called up and received their medals.

The senior ‘Players Player of the Year’ was Siobhan Mc Grath (Thomas Davis) and Gerry announced that the ‘Player of the Year’ was awarded to Cliodhna OConnor (Naomh Mearnóg)

RTE’s Joanne Cantwell, who occasionally reminded her audience of her own playing career with St Brigid’s – and what might have been – was our M.C. for the evening. Her easy style and quick wit ensured that the event ran smoothly. Our last award was the ‘Hall of Fame’ and Joanne asked John Hillary, Chairperson from 2003 until last year to make the presentation. John eloquently described the recipient and mentioned all the hard work done behind the scenes. The recipient was to be found too on the field of play encouraging the players whether they were from his own club or county. Nothing was ever too great for him to undertake, John said and it was his honour to present the Hall of Fame award to Michael Walsh, Naomh Mearnóg.

Before the band took the stage Joanne Cantwell asked Camillus Kilpatrick back on stage to complete the awards ceremony. In thanking the speakers, he wished Geraldine Giles well as she departed the presidency of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association after seven years next March. Accepting a memento on behalf of the Dublin Association, Geraldine thanked Camillus and the previous chairpersons for building Ladies Gaelic Football into the organisation that it was today.

Kathleen Colreavy had organised this event and her work and dedication was marked by a standing ovation. The evening continues well into the night with music by Heartbeat and dancing by Whitehall Colmcilles.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs