Another great year for Munster football


Another great year for Munster Ladies Football
by Fr. Liam Kelleher.


Delegates from the 6 counties in Munster, gathered
at the GAA pavilion in Charleville on Sunday to
reflect on another great year for Ladies Football
inthe Province. In a very comprehensive report,
Hon Sec Marie Halvey outlined the main activities
and successes of the Province in 2004. On the playing
field, the highlight was Munster’s retention of
their Inter provincial crown and hopes were high
that they would complete the hatrick in 2005. While
there was no team from the province present at Croke
Park on ladies Senior and Junior final day hopes
for 2005 looked promising. Cork were complimented
on their first ever senior Provincial Success. At
underage level Cork continued to dominate taking
the under 14 Munster title for the 5th year in a
row and while they lost out at the All-Ireland Semi
final stage to Mayo, they went on to win the All-Ireland
blitz. The under 16’s defeated Donegal in the All-Ireland
final after getting over Dublin in a thrilling Semi-final.
Cork also won the Minor All-Ireland for the 2nd
year in a row having a comprehensive win over Galway
in the Semi-Final and Laois in the final.



At club level Abbeydorney won the Junior All-Ireland
while Donoughmore missed out by a point to
Ballyboden/St Enda’s in the Senior final Munster
champions Athea bowed out at the Semi-final



who attended the Munster AGM


At 3rd level UL won the O’Connor cup symbol of national
dominance at the highest level. LIT won the Donaghy
cup for Div 3 while Tralee IT won the O’Connor shield.
There was a huge increase in the participation at
Post primary level. With ISK successful at National
level and St Mary’s Mallow and St Brigids Killarney
reaching National finals. The Munster schools blitz
was also a huge success. Concern was expressed that
Munster, was now the only Province without a full
time administrator with difficulty in getting a
suitable premises, hopefully the situation would
be rectified early in the new year.

President Dan O’Mahony thanked all for their help
and co-operation during the year, he congratulated
Michael Ryan of Waterford for getting the Presidents
award during the year for his services to ladies
Football, Michael coached Waterford to 5 All-Ireland
successes while he led his club Ballymacarbry to
10 All-Ireland sucesses. He expressed the hope that
the imminent appointment of a Provincial Administrator
would be of great help to the many voluntary people
who were giving huge commitment. George Young and
Sharon O’Keefe development officers reported on
the steady development of the sport within the Province.
Fr. Liam Kelleher PRO thanked the media for their
excellent coverage of ladies Football and especially
TG4 for their great TV coverage of the sport. Roisin
Daly 3rd level Colleges representative reported
on the success at that level and stated 19 colleges
took part in the recent freshers blitz which was
won by UL.

Healthy Finance

Tom Madigan reported on the financial state of the
Councils finances and due to his excellent stewardship
they are in a very healthy state, At offership level
Sharon O’Keefe replaced Kathleen Murphy as registrar
while Colette O’Grady took Sharon’s place on Development.


A lively discussion took place on the cards system
and sin bin issue. it was agreed that a fairer system
for indiscretions would be, 1 a ticking, 2 a green
card, 3 a yellow card with 10 minutes in the sin
bin. Of course for serious discretion the referee
would have the option of issuing a straight red
card. This motion will now go forward to National

There will be a separate competition this year for
under 14 with the 4 weaker counties having as comnpetition
of their own they will also get a shot at the A
title, with 2 sections and 3 teams in each Officers

President Dan O’Mahony Cork.

Vice President Michael Ryan Waterford

Hon secretary Marie Halvey Limerick.

Assistant Ann Marie O’Donoghue Kerry.

Treasurer Tom Madigan Limerick

Assistant Eileen O’Brien Cork.

Language and Cultural Officer Michaél O Sullivan

Development Officers Colette O’Grady Limerick, George
Young Waterford.

PRO Fr. Liam Kelleher Cork

Fr Liam Kelleher PRO 087-8516984



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs