2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Arklow still on course for titles

Arklow still on course for titles


AGB U/12’s on course for three in row championship

AGB 6-11 Carnew 2-1 Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney U/12 girls have
booked their place in third championship final, after they had a
convincing win over Carnew in Annacurra on Saturday (29th Sept.)
morning last. However they did not have it all their own way, particularly
in the first half, where Carnew put in a determined effort to stay
in touch with the current U/12 champs, only four points separated
the sides at the break (3-2 to 2-1) in Arklows favour, with scores
from Whitney Roche, Calvin Swarte and Aine Reilly. Carnews response
came from the boot of Stephanie Nolan, Nolan hit the back of the
Arklow net twice, while their number twelve Alison Smith tagged
on a point before the break. But with the ‘Minimum’ of encouragement
from their manager Cathy Forde at the break the Arklow girls lifted
their game a notch or two, with the forward line at one end adding
a further three goals and nine points, while Leona Byrne,Vivienne
Walsh, Beth Murphy, Danielle Kaye and Sinead Arthur in the back
line built a ring of steele around Lauren Martins goal that the
Carnew forwards were unable to breech through out the second half.

Arklow Gers must now await the out come of the replay between St.Nicholas
and Coolkenno to see who they will play in the final. AGB: Lauren
Martin, Leona Byrne, Vivienne Walsh, Beth Murphy, Danielle Kaye,
Sinead Arthur, Clionadh Byrne, Calvin Swarte (3-1),Aine Reilly(0-1),
Jessica Hurley (1-2), Emma Marshall (0-2), Georgina Canavan (0-1),
Niamh Werder, Whitney Roche (2-4),Megan Swarte. Subs: Katie Furlong
for Megan Swarte, Paula Maher for Niamh Werder. Carnew: Rebecca
Kavanagh, Alice Balpe, Shannon Kealy, Alex )’Reilly, Jessica Doyle,
Hayleigh Murphy, Keeva Murphy, Cleo Turner, Anna Henneny, Miriam
Smith, Aoife Kavanagh, Alison Smyth (0-1), Meg Tyrell, Stephanie
Nolan (2-0), Tara Nolan.

Referee: Seamus Ahern ( Eire Og Greystones).

Wicklow U/14 juvenile girls championship semi-final.

AGB U/14’s remain on course for their second championship title
in a row. AGB 10-16 St. Pats 0-0 Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney U/14s
steam rolled their way into the U/14 championship final when they
beat a young St. Pats side on Sunday morning last (30th Sept.) in
Ballymoney. Like a spider inviting an unsuspecting victim into its
web, the Arklow Gers girls showed no mercy on this occassion. The
Arklow forwards were pin sharp on the day, Aife kavanagh, Shauna
Fleming and Eirinne Murphy combined to put three goals and one point
on the board within five minutes of the throw in. The score line
at this early stage could have been greater but for excellent saves
from St Pats net minder Sofie Byrne.

At the other end, Arklows keeper Amy Devereux was more or less redundant
through out the game, as her hard working back line of Michelle
Forde, Hanna Kavanagh, Nichole Kavanagh, and Katie Kindlen kept
St Pats Pamela Doyle, Aisling Hayden, Laura Leonard and Niamh O’Donohue
scoreless through out. in fairness to the St Pats girls they were
up against a very experienced Arklow side who have fourteen all
Ireland medal holders among their ranks, and the extra class showed
on the day, Arklow were in unstoppable form, with the entire team
from the backs through to the forwards playing as a cohesive unit,
Naomi Roche along side sam kelly shone in around the midfield area,
while the inter-changes between Aife Kavanagh, Shauna Fleming, Jesse
McElheron and Eirinne Murphy caused the St Pats defence all kinds
of problems. Arklow Gers will play Coolkenno in the final, in what
should be a bigger test for the Arklow GeraldinesBallymoney girls.

AGB: Amy Devereux, Michelle Forde, Hanna Kavanagh, Nicole Kavanagh
(1-0), Katie Kindlen, Naomi Roche, Seranna Kavanagh, Kayleigh Crammond,
Sam Kelly, Aine O’Reilly, Shauna Fleming(4-2), Lucia O’Grady, Jesse
McElheron (0-1), Aife Kavanagh (3-7), Eirinne Murphy (2-3), Dannielle
Brauders (1-1), Megan O’Brien (0-2),Niamh Arthur, Jessica Hurley.
St Pats: Sofie Byrne, Sarah Delahunt, Niamh O’Brien, Laura Manley,
Laura Cullen, Tara Quinn, Louise Dickenson, Sophie Bonus, Helan
Sheelan, Aisling Hayden, Niamh O’Donoghue, Laura Leonard, Alex Costigan,
Jennifer Lyons, Aine McDonald, Shauna Kelly, Sarah Carroll, Niamh

Referee: Cathy Forde.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs