2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Armagh, Kerry and Meath maintain winning start to Lidl NFL

Lidl National Football League

Compiled by John Fallon

THERE were victories for Mayo, Armagh, Kerry and Meath in Division 1 of the Lidl National League as the top-flight campaign continued at the weekend.

At Duggan Park in Ballinasloe on Saturday, two goals from Lisa Cafferky secured a first victory for Mayo in this year’s Lidl NFL as they held out for a 2-5 to 0-10 win over Connacht rivals Galway.

After leading by four points entering the final 10 minutes, Liam McHale’s charges had to resist a late fightback from the hosts who kicked three points through two Roisin Leonard frees and Ailbhe Davoren.

Mayo led by 1-3 to 0-5 at the break before Cafferky struck for her second goal going into the final quarter as Galway fell to a second defeat.

On Sunday, Armagh notched their second win when they travelled to Cork and won by 1-8 to 1-6 in a game where they were never behind.

Armagh led by 1-4 to 1-3 at the break, with Aimee Mackin slotting home an early penalty.

Daire Kiely responded with a goal for Cork and while they were always in contention, they never managed to get ahead and fell to their first defeat of the campaign.

Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh scored 1-4 off the bench to inspire Kerry to a 2-11 to 2-5 win over a dogged Waterford outfit at Fitzgerald Stadium.

Ní Mhuircheartaigh entered proceedings in the 47th minute when Kerry were a point ahead but the Footballer of the Year then took with a fine performance that included a beautiful lobbed goal in the 64th minute.

Waterford, playing into the wind and rain in the opening half, got off to a whirlwind start after 45 seconds when Kellyann Hogan scored a fortuitous goal before a free from Hogan dropped and Mairead O’Brien pounced to fist to the net to lead by 2-1 to 0-0 after 10 minutes before Kerry finally got moving and got on top. A goal from Jadyn Lucey saw them draw level at 1-5 to 2-2 by the break and they edged ahead after the break for victory.

First-half goals from Meadhbh Byrne and Marion Farrelly were crucial at Pairc Tailteann in Navan as Meath got the better of Dublin to make it two wins from two by 2-5 to 0-7.

In the battle of the last two TG4 All-Ireland senior football championship winners, Meath built on last weekend’s impressive triumph against Mayo to maintain their 100% start to the 2024 season. Carla Rowe contributed 0-4 for Dublin on her return to the first 15, but the Jackies’ search for a first victory in the calendar year will continue into round three of the top-tier.

Meath led by 2-3 to 0-3 at the break and saw out the victory in the second half.

In Division 2, there were Round 2 victories for Kildare, Tyrone, Westmeath and Cavan, while Division 3 saw Clare, Wexford, Roscommon and Offaly record wins.

And in Division 4, there were wins for Leitrim, Fermanagh and Limerick, while Carlow and Longford drew over the weekend in Round 3 of the competition.


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1 Round 2

Mayo 2-5 Galway 0-10

Armagh 1-8 Cork 1-6

Meath 2-5 Dublin 0-7

Kerry 2-11 Waterford 2-5


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 2 Round 2

Kildare 1-8 Donegal 1-4

Tyrone 1-7 Tipperary 0-9

Westmeath 4-10 Monaghan 2-13

Cavan 0-9 Laois 0-6


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 3 Round 2

Clare 4-11 Sligo 2-6

Wexford 1-5 Down 0-5

Roscommon 1-14 Louth 0-6

Offaly 5-4 Antrim 2-8


Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 4 Round 3

Leitrim 8-8 Derry 0-7

Fermanagh 2-15 Wicklow 2-7

Limerick 1-9 Kilkenny 0-1

Carlow 1-8 Longford 1-8


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs