Ballincollig win U-14D Evening Echo Championship

By Terry O’Brien


3-7 Banteer 3-5

Ballincollig recorded their first ever win at underage level when
they defeated a gallant Banteer in the Evening Echo U14D final
last Friday in Kilmurray. Ballincollig were quickly into their
stride and rattled off a goal and a point inside the first ten

However Banteer began to dominate in midfield through Una Twohig
and Olivia Roche. The latter initiated several Banteer attacks
but Katie Lynch, who was superb at full back for Ballincollig,
marshalled her colleagues to repel. Samantha Coomey and Clionadh
Irish were beginning to come to terms with the work rate of the
Banteer girls. The former got the score of the match when she
soloed from midfield and crashed the ball low into the Banteer
net past Katie O’Callaghan. Banteer however were rewarded for
their attacking efforts when Olivia Roche coolly dispatched the
ball into the Ballincollig net and at the short whistle Ballincollig
led by 2-3 to 1-3.

Both sides swapped points early in the second before the game
took a dramatic turn. Banteer’s Ellen Roche was fouled inside
the square and Olivia Roche stepped forward to dispatch the ball
to the Ballincollig net. This was quickly followed by a second
goal from Emma Ryan at corner forward and the north Cork side
found themselves two points up with seven minutes to go. But Ballincollig
replied with points from Aoife Cremin and Katie Allen before Grace
McDonnell was fouled on the 13m line and up stepped Michelle McNally
to dispatch the ball to the net. In one last attack Una Twohig
pointed for Banteer before referee Donie Forde blew the final
whistle and Ballincollig lifted the cup, two points the better.

Ballincollig: E O’Sullivan, L O’Driscoll, K Lynch, K Daly,
S O’Sullivan, A Sheehan, S Walsh, S Coomey (1-1), C Irish, M McNally
2-0 (1-0 pen) G McDonnell, S Kavanagh, M Flynn (0-1), A Cremin
(0-2), K Allen(0-3).
Subs: G O’Callaghan, A Courtney, A Hickey, O Dorgan.
Banteer: K O’Callaghan, N Crowley, A Moran, K Buckley,
A Sheehan, L O’Brien, S McAuliffe, U Twohig (0-1), O Roche (2-1)
1-0 pen, Twomey (0-1), D O’Neill (0-1), H Kearney, E Roche (0-1),
N Long, E Ryan(1-0).
Subs: E O’Donoghue, A O’Brien, T Sheehan, A Cotter, M Murphy

Referee: D Forde (Donoughmore)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs