Bord Gáis Energy Ladies Football Teams of the League Announced

Bord Gáis Energy Ladies Football Teams of the League Announced

ChampionsCork Dominate Division 1 Selection, 22 Counties Represented

The Bord Gáis Energy Teams of the League have been announced at an awards ceremony at Croke Park. This new joint initiative from Ladies Football and Bord Gáis Energy recognises the players who excelled during the league campaign across all three divisions.


45 players from 22 different counties were selected as the best performers from Divisions 1, 2 and 3 during the league season and each player was presented with a specially commissioned kit to mark their achievement.


The players were selected by opposition team managers who were asked to vote for a team of fifteen players whose performances stood out in their division following the completion of the leagues.


Champions Cork dominate the Division 1 selection with six players including Brid Stack, Juliet Murphy and Nollaig Cleary while Mayo’s Cora Staunton is the only representative chosen from the beaten finalists.


Dublin claimed three places in the Division 1 Team of the League while Monaghan bagged two and Galway, Armagh and Laois all claimed a single spot.


Tipperary laid claim to the strongest representation in the Division 2 Team of the League with five players selected. They include Aoife Dwyer, Siobhan Costello, Angela McDermott, Gillian O’Brien and Edel Hanley. A trio of Down forwards were selected with Orla Fegan, Micheala Downey and Aileen Pyers rewarded for the fine attacking play which brought their county the Division 2 title.


Roscommon deservedly took four of the places available in the Division 3 selection. Half-back Michelle Carey and forwards Claire Grehan, Ann Marie Carley and Emer Casey all made the grade while both Limerick and Wicklow claimed three places a piece on the Division 3 Team of the League.


Pat Quill, President of Ladies Gaelic Football said, “This is a fantastic initiative and I would like to thank both Bord Gáis Energy and those within the association who have made the Teams of the League possible. It is always important to recognise and reward excellence and the Teams of the League allow us to do that across all three divisions.”


Ger Cunningham of Bord Gáis Energy, said, “I would firstly like to offer my congratulations to all the players who made it on to the Bord Gáis Energy Teams of the League, it is a great honour for them to be selected and a true mark of their commitment to ladies football. This announcement marks the completion of the 2009 leagues, it’s been a terrific year and we at Bord Gáis Energy are already looking forward to next year’s campaign.”





Bord Gáis Energy Division 1 Team of the League

1. Cliodhna O’Connor (Dublin) 2. Rena Buckley (Cork) 3. Angela Walsh (Cork) 4. Maria Kavanagh (Dublin) 5. Aoibhean Daly (Galway) 6. Brid Stack (Cork) 7. Briege Corkery (Cork) 8. Juliet Murphy (Cork) 9. Caroline O Hanlon (Armagh) 10. Nollaig Cleary (Cork) 11. Tracey Lawlor (Laois) 12. Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan) 13. Cora Staunton (Mayo) 14. Sinead Aherne (Dublin) 15. Niamh Kindlon (Monaghan)


Bord Gáis Energy Division 2 Team of the League

1. Katrina Connolly (Sligo) 2. Aoife Dwyer (Tipperary) 3. Sinead Brennan (Leitrim) 4. Angela Doohan (Sligo) 5. Aoife McGovern (Waterford) 6. Yvonne Barden (Longford) 7. Siobhan Costello (Tipperary) 8. Grainne Nulty (Meath) 9. Angela McDermott (Tipperary) 10. Gillian O Brien (Tipperary) 11. Sharon Little (Fermanagh) 12. Orla Fegan (Down) 13. Edel Hanley (Tipperary) 14. Michaela Downey (Down) 15. Aileen Pyers (Down)


Bord Gáis Energy Division 3 Team of the League

1. Emer Miley (Wicklow) 2. Dervla McMaster (Derry) 3. Aisling O hAnnaidh (Wicklow) 4. Sandra Healy (Limerick) 5. Michelle Carey (Roscommon) 6. Grace Lynch (Louth) 7. Olivia Giltenane (Limerick) 8. Caitriona Corr (Kilkenny) 9. Caoilfhionn Deeney (Wicklow) 10. Claire Grehan (Roscommon) 11. Sinead Doyle (Carlow) 12. Ann Marie Carley (Roscommon) 13. Emer Casey (Roscommon) 14. Aine McCusker (Derry) 15. Dymphna O’Brien (Limerick)


For More Information:

Stiofáin MacDháibhéad Bord Gáis Energy – 01 6021116 / 087 7991206

David O’Siochain, Pembroke Communications – 01 6496322 / 087 936 2440

Claire Turvey, Pembroke Communications – 01 6496312 / 087 983 4851

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs