Bord Gáis Energy Ladies National Football League Round 4 wrap

GAA – Bord Gáis Energy Ladies National Football League Round 4 wrap

By Jackie Cahill…..
REIGNING Bord Gáis Energy Ladies National Football League champions Cork fell to a rare defeat on Sunday as Leinster kingpins Dublin made it four wins from four in Division 1B of this year’s competition.

The All-Ireland champions lost by 1-10 to 1-9 at Naomh Mearnóg as Dublin repeated their 2008 league success against the same opposition in Mallow, the last time that Cork were defeated in a competitive game before this reverse.

Dublin led by 0-5 to 0-4 at half-time and Lyndsey Davey’s goal 13 minutes into the second half proved to be the game’s pivotal score as the Sky Blues recorded a famous win.

Cork kicked eight wides against the wind in the opening half as star attacker Valerie Mulcahy endured a rare off day before netting a late goal from a penalty.

Fiona Corcoran was superb for Dublin at midfield while Cork’s best player was former captain Juliet Murphy as Dublin defender Maria Kavanagh performed an effective marking job on the normally-lethal Mulcahy.

Dublin, who survived the sin-binning of two players, endured a nervy last quarter before Amy Ring supplied a late insurance point.

Monaghan are also safely through to the quarter-finals from Division 1B but they had just a single point to spare against gallant Galway in Dunmore.

Influential forward Niamh Kindlon supplied seven points for the Farney County as they held on for a 0-12 to 1-8 victory against the Tribeswomen, who were inspired by 1-3 from Una Carroll.

Galway will now meet Kildare in a winner-takes-all relegation shoot-out in a fortnight’s time as the Lilywhites drew 1-8 to 2-5 away to Clare.

Noelle Earley’s goal gave Kildare an ideal start in Lissycasey but after leading by 1-3 to 0-4 at half-time, they needed two late points to snatch a draw.

Clare forwards Eimear Considine and Majella Griffin scored second half goals to turn the game on its head but Kildare can also count themselves unfortunate not to have secured maximum points after missing a couple of inviting late chances.

In Division 1A, Donegal secured a surprise 1-16 to 1-13 victory against Tyrone at Castlefin, a result which leaves Tyrone sweating on a place in the quarter-finals.

The outstanding Niamh Hegarty scored nine points for Donegal while Roisín Friel scored the crucial goal which leaves the North-Westerners in with a fighting chance of survival ahead of the final round of group games in a fortnight’s time.

Tyrone had impressive scoring displays from Jolene Donnelly and Gemma Begley but they must pick themselves up quickly for a meeting with relegation-threatened Armagh in two weeks.

That final group game is now a must-win encounter for both sides with Armagh hovering over the relegation trapdoor following their 0-12 to 0-8 defeat against Mayo in Keady.

Cora Staunton scored 0-8 for group leaders Mayo while in the other game in Division 1A, Laois and Kerry booked their places in the last eight after fighting out a draw in Castleisland.

Noirin Kirwan scored the goal for Laois in the 1-6 to 0-9 stalemate as Kerry forward Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh nabbed a late equaliser for the Kingdom.


Bord Gais Energy NFL Division 1A
Kerry 0-9 Laois 1-6
Armagh 0-8 Mayo 0-12
Donegal 1-16 Tyrone 1-13

Bord Gais Energy NFL Division 1B
Dublin 1-10 Cork 1-9
Galway 1-8 Monaghan 0-12
Clare 2-5 Kildare 1-8
Bord Gais Energy NFL Division 2A
Sligo 5-16 Wexford 1-1
Leitrim 2-10 Tipperary 2-17

Bord Gais Energy NFL Division 2B
Longford 5-12 Fermanagh 0-5
Down 1-9 Meath 1-4


Cork scorers: V mulachy 1-4 (1-0 pen, 0-2f), N Cleary 0-2, J Murphy 0-2 (1f), G O’Flynn 0-1.
Dublin scorers: S Ahern 0-7 (5f), L Davey 1-0, F Corcoran 0-1, A Ring 0-1, N Hurley 0-1.


Armagh scorers: L Brown 0-3, S O’Hagan 0-2, C Murray 0-2, M Tennyson 0-1.
Mayo scorers: C Staunton 0-8, M Carter 0-2, L Cafferky 0-1, A Herbert 0-1.


Donegal scorers: N Hegarty 0-9 (7f), R Friel 1-1, A Doherty 0-2, N Stapleton 0-1, C McMenamin 0-1, N Doherty 0-1, M Devenney 0-1.
Tyrone scorers: J Donnelly 1-5, G Begley 0-6 (3f), C Donnelly 0-1, N McKiernan 0-1.


Galway scorers: U Carroll 1-3, A-Marie McDonagh 0-2, P Gleeson 0-1, S Burke 0-1, L Cohill 0-1.
Monaghan scorers: N Kindlon 0-7, C McAnespie 0-2, T McNally 0-1, G McNally 0-1, E Byrne 0-1.


Clare scorers: M Griffin 1-3, E Considine 1-1, N Keane 0-1.
Kildare scorers: N Earley 1-0, T Noone 0-3, D Gately 0-2, A Jennings 0-2, E Dillon 0-1.


Kerry scorers: S Houlihan 0-2 (1f), P Dennehy 0-2f, L Ní Mhuircheartaigh 0-2, A O’Sullivan 0-2, A Brosnan 0-1.
Laois: N Kirwan 1-1, T Lawlor 0-3, A Moore 0-1f, M Kirwan 0-1f.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs