Bord Gáis Energy NFL Round 3

MONAGHAN defeated champions Cork on Sunday to continue their 100 per cent start in Division 1 of the 2011 Bord Gáis Energy Ladies National Football League.

The Farney County held on for a 1-13 to 2-7 victory against the Leesiders at Emyvale to make it three wins from three outings in this year’s competition.

In the process, Monaghan atoned for last year’s semi-final defeat against Cork but they had to withstand a spirited fightback from the holders, who had trailed by 1-2 to 1-9 at half-time.

Monaghan took full advantage of a strong breeze in the first half to open up a seven-point interval lead, roaring into an early five-point advantage before Cork came storming back.

A 12th minute goal from Amy O’Shea and two points from Valerie Mulcahy tied the scores at 1-2 to 0-5 but all six Monaghan forwards were on target during the course of an impressive first half attacking display.

Monaghan replied to depleted Cork’s early revival by hitting another 1-4 before the break, with Ciara McAnespie supplying the home side’s goal in the 25th minute.

Monaghan were content to sit back and soak up the Cork pressure in the second half and while Mulcahy converted a penalty awarded for a foot block by Monaghan goalkeeper goalkeeper Edel Corrigan, the hosts claimed a deserved win.

In Division 2, Dublin won the battle of the 2010 All-Ireland champions as the senior winners defeated intermediate champions Waterford by 3-20 to 1-6 at St Finian’s, Newcastle, on Saturday.

Dublin, relegated from Division 1 last year, are on course for a rapid return to the top flight and a comprehensive 19-point ensured a third victory of the league season from three matches.

There was some confusion surrounding the full-time score, with Dublin observers chalking the hosts down for 3-20, while the match referee recorded 3-19.

At half-time, Dublin had this match in the bag after opening up a 2-11 to 0-1 lead with a devastating first half display.

Full-forward Sinead Ahern, the star of last year’s All-Ireland senior final, helped herself to 2-4 in this game and her two first half goals, the second from a penalty, helped to open up a 16-point interval lead.

Michelle Ryan’s 19th minute free was all Waterford had to show for their first half display but Ryan did add three more points in the second half, with Aileen Wall grabbing a consolation goal.

Amy Ring added gloss to the final scoreline from a Dublin perspective with the home side’s third goal, while Lyndsey Davey went close to a fourth minutes before the end.

In Division 3, All-Ireland junior champions Limerick, who lost their opening match against Down, collected their first point of the League campaign with a home draw against Leitrim, 1-6 apiece.

Ace forward Dymphna O’Brien was the star of the show for Limerick in Rathkeale with a 1-5 haul, including the equalising point towards the finish.

Leitrim led by 1-4 to 1-2 at half-time as Sarah McLoughin scored the game’s opening goal for Leitrim, with O’Brien responding in kind for the Shannonsiders.

And in Division 4, captain Elaine Finn scored 3-4 for Westmeath on Saturday evening as the hosts demolished Antrim on a 3-23 to 0-4 scoreline at Kinnegad.

At half-time, the Lake County were 1-14 to 0-3 clear before Finn completed her hat-trick of goals in the second half as Westmeath surged to the top of the table with two wins from two matches.



Bord Gais Energy Ladies National Football League Division 1

Kildare 0-13 Galway 2-7
Mayo 1-6 Laois 2-12
Tyrone 2-12 Donegal 6-6
Monaghan 1-13 Cork 2-7

Bord Gais Energy Ladies National Football League Division 2

Sligo 3-8 Armagh 3-15
Tipperary 2-9 Cavan 1-11
Kerry 0-10 Meath 0-8
Dublin 3-20 Waterford 1-6

Bord Gais Energy Ladies National Football League Division 3

Wexford 1-8 Down 1-8
Wicklow 2-10 Clare 1-17
Limerick 1-6 Leitrim 1-6
Longford 2-7 Fermanagh 3-13

Bord Gais Energy Ladies National Football League Division 4

Carlow 2-3 Roscommon 6-13
Westmeath 3-23 Antrim 0-4
Offaly 3-11 Derry 1-5
Kilkenny 1-5 Louth 1-12

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs