Bright start to 2018 campaign for Tyrone as they overcome Déise

Lidl Ladies National League Division Two

Tyrone……………………………. 4-11

Tyrone began brightly with a brace of points through Grainne Rafferty and Emma Hegarty before Roisin Tobin pointed for Waterford who then netted the game’s opening goal by the 10th minute via Eimear Fennell.

The Red Hand girls replied with a goal of their own in the 17th minute, Grainne Rafferty finding the target successfully, Tyrone tagging on points from Chloe McCaffrey and Maria Canavan(0-2) in open play.

Waterford, though, had scores courtesy of Tobin, Katie Murray, Aileen Wall, Eimear Fennell and Sinead Ryan to go in at half-time 1-6 to 1-5 ahead.

Tyrone lost Niamh Hughes on a yellow card for ten minutes during the third quarter but they showed determination in defence to hold Waterford, although keeper Shannon Lynch was required to make a fine double save that included denying Fennell from the penalty spot.

Maria Canavan pointed a free plus Slaine McCarroll, Gemma Begley, Maria Canavan and Emma Smith all landed points as play progressed.

Waterford netted a second goal by Michelle Ryan but three last half Tyrone goals sealed victory, first through Chloe McCaffrey plus Maria Canavan and Niamh Hughes followed up.

Edwina Curran and Ryan pulled points back but Tyrone were worthy winners.

Match stats…


Tyrone: Maria Canavan 1-5(2f), Chloe McCaffrey 1-1, Grainne Rafferty 1-1, Niamh Hughes 1-0, Gemma Begley 0-1(f), Emma Hegarty 0-1, Emma Smith 0-1, Slaine McCarroll 0-1

Waterford: Eimear Fennell 1-2, Michelle Ryan 1-1, Roisin Tobin 0-2, Sinead Ryan 0-2(2f), Aileen Wall 0-1, Katie Murray 0-1, Edwina Curran 0-1


Tyrone: Shannon Lynch, Aimee Daly, Joanne Barrett, Caoileann Conway, Slaine McCarroll, Neamh Woods, Emma Brennan, Maebh Mallon, Emma Jane Gervin, Niamh Hughes, Gemma Begley, Emma Hegarty, Maria Canavan, Grainne Rafferty, Chloe McCaffrey. Subs: Emma Smith, Lycrecia Quinn, Aisling O’Kane.

Waterford: Sally Kelly, Kate Hahessey, Michelle McGrath, Rebecca Casey, Laura Cusack, Emma Murray, Megan Dunford, Mairead Wall, Aisling Hahessey, Roisin Tobin, Keeley Corbett Barry, Katie Murray, Sinead Ryan, Eimear Fennell, Aileen Wall. Subs: Karen McGrath, Edwina Curran, Michelle Ryan, Liz Devine.

Referee: Conor Dourneen, Cavan.






Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs