Here are the Carnacon and Mourneabbey All-Ireland senior club final teams

THE scene is set for the All-Ireland senior club final between Carnacon (Mayo) and Mourneabbey (Cork) at Parnell Park next Sunday (3.45pm). 

Both teams have announced their starting line-ups and squads ahead of an eagerly-anticipated decider, as Cora Staunton-captained Carnacon aim for a sixth crown, while Mourneabbey, beaten finalists in 2014 and 2015, go in search of their very first. 

Carnacon are joint-managed by Jimmy Corbett and Beatrice Casey, with Tipperary’s 2017 TG4 All-Ireland winning manager Shane Ronayne guiding Mourneabbey’s fortunes. 

Mourneabbey won junior (2005) and intermediate (2007) titles but the Dolores Tyrrell Memorial Cup is the silverware they crave.

Winners of the last four Munster senior crowns, they were beaten All-Ireland finalists in 2014 and 2015, before falling to eventual winners Donaghmoyne at the semi-final stage last year.

Bríd O’Sullivan will captain the team against a Carnacon outfit led by 11-time All-Star Staunton, who will board a plane for Australia on Tuesday morning to link up with the Greater Western Sydney Giants in the Women’s AFL.

Staunton would love nothing more than to jet off with another All-Ireland club medal in her back pocket, and she’ll have Mayo team-mate Fiona McHale powering the charge from midfield.

McHale was phenomenal in the Connacht final replay victory over Kilkerrin/Clonberne, before producing another stellar display as Carnacon comfortably accounted for Ulster champions, and Donaghmoyne’s conquerors, St Macartan’s.

The bookies have Carnacon as favourites to win their first All-Ireland title since 2013 but Mourneabbey will hope their time has finally come, and they’re battle-hardened after getting past Dublin’s Foxrock-Cabinteely after extra-time in the recent semi-final.

Sunday’s senior decider throws in at 3.45 and will be broadcast live by TG4, following coverage of the Leinster senior club hurling final.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs