Cavan and Monaghan name teams for crucial relegation play-off

TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship (Relegation Playoff 2)


Saturday – Cavan v Monaghan; Lannleire GFC, Dunleer, 1.30pm


There’s a big provincial derby in store here, in the battle to avoid relegation from the senior grade.

Cavan and Monaghan, the beaten Ulster semi-finalists, also finished bottom of the pile in their All-Ireland qualifier groups.

Monaghan were edged out by Armagh in the race for an All-Ireland qualifier place on scoring difference, while Cavan were beaten by Mayo and Dublin in a competitive pool.

The Cavan team to face Monaghan shows two changes from the starting 15 that lined out against Dublin.

Laura Fitzpatrick and Ciara Finnegan are named to start, with Joanne Moore and Nessa Byrd dropping out.

There are also two changes for Monaghan from the team defeated by Cork, as Muireann Atkinson replaces Eva Woods, and Therese McNally/Scott comes in for Niamh Callan.

The winners will play senior championship football next year, with the losers given a second chance against Tipperary or Waterford.

Cavan team: 

1 Evelyn Baugh Lurgan
2 Rachael Doonan Templeport
3 Laura Fitzpatrick St. Finbarrs
4 Sheila Reilly Mullahoran
5 Sinead Greene Templeport
6 Grainne McGlade Arva/Killeshandra
7 Sinead O ‘Sullivan Lacken
8 Ailish Cornyn St. Francis
9 Donna English Arva/Killeshandra
10 Catriona Smith killygarry
11 Aisling Maguire Templeport
12 Catherine Dolan lurgan
13 Andrea O’Reilly Baileboro
14 Ashling Sheridan Mullahoran
15 Ciara Finnegan Crosserlough

Monaghan team: 

1 Linda Martin Donaghmoyne
2 Maeve Monaghan Eire Og
3 Fiona Courtney Donaghmoyne
4 Josie Fitzpatrick Inniskeen
5 Aoife Mc Anespie Emyvale
6 Sharon Courtney Donaghmoyne
7 Grainne Mc Nally Emyvale
8 Cora Courtney Donaghmoyne
9 Eimear Mc Anespie Emyvale
10 Rosemary Courtney Donaghmoyne
11 Muireann Atkinson O’Neill Shamrocks
12 Jane Drury St Brigids, Ballybay
13 Ciara Mc Anespie Emyvale
14 Ellen Mc Carron Aghabog
15 Therese Mc Nally/Scott Emyvale

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs