2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Championship Preview

Championship Preview



The group favorites Mayo should have enough to cruise past the challenge of Waterford in Saturday’s first televised game but this is the only game the Deise can afford to lose.   The clash of Dublin and Kerry on Sunday is make or break for both sides as a win on the opening weekend could provide the momentum for a drive towards the quarter-finals.

Gaelic Grounds, Limerick: Mayo v Waterford 3.45pm SAT Verdict: Mayo

Nenagh, Tipperary: Kerry v Dublin 2.30pm SUN Verdict: Kerry



WATERFORD: A Jordan, G Kenneally, R Hallahan, E Cooney, M McGrath, M ODonnell, L Whelan, C OKeefe, F OReilly, M Wall, L Wall, M Ryan, M ORourke, A Murphy, K Kelly

MAYO: Y Byrne, C OHara, H Lohan, N OShea, C McGing, M Carter, M Heffernan,  J Moran, C Egan, F McHale, C Staunton, C McDermott, C Heffernan, A Herbert,  L Cafferky

KERRY: L O Driscoll, C Kelly,  G Ni Fhlatharta, M Twoomey, S Fleming, C Sexton, P Dennehy, M O Donoghue, B Breen, J Johnson, K Kenneally, N Ni Suilleabhain, D Murphy, K O Driscoll, G O Se

DUBLIN: C OConnor, K McGlynn, D Masterson, M Kavanagh N Hyland, S McGrath, O Colreavy, Fiona Ní Chorcoráin, S Finnegan, K Hopkins, Mary Nevin, A McGuinness, S Ahearne, L Kelly, AM Murphy



The clash of the round sees Galway take on defending All Ireland champions Cork.  Both teams should go through to the knock-out stages but this game is about building confidence and claiming the bragging rights.  Cork have been beaten once already this year and Galway have a point to prove after losing out to Mayo in the National League final.  Monaghan are a sleeping giant of the ladies game but they are not expected to wake in time for this year’s Championship.  The Farney women should still have enough to see off Roscommon

Gaelic Grounds, Limerick: Cork v Galway 5.30pm SAT Verdict: Cork

Padraig Pearses, Ballinasloe: Roscommon v Monaghan 3.30pm SUN Verdict: Monaghan


GALWAY: T Hughes, M Glynn, E Flaherty, S Noone, M O Connell, A Daly , AM McDonagh, A Clarke, L Cohill, P Gleeson, N Fahy, G Conneally, E Concannon, S Cosgrove, R McPhilbin.

CORK: C O Donoughue, C Walsh, A Walsh, R Buckley, L Barrett, B Stack, B Corkery, J Murphy, N Kelly, G O Flynn, M O Connor, N Cleary, V Mulcahy, L McMahon, D O Reilly

MONAGHAN: L Martin, L Connolly , M Grimes, S Courtney, C Reilly, O McKeown, F Courtney, A Casey, U McNally, C Mc Connell, T McNally, H Hughes, N Lynch, N Kindlon, A McAnespie

ROSCOMMON: S Finnerty, M Kenaghan, E Walsh, F Byrne, S Kenanghan, A McGeeney, S Cooney, T Taylor, L Naunghton, E Hussey, C Grehan, M Carey, J Downey, E Casey, C Gormely


Tyrone will offer a physical challenge to the Leinster champions but Laois are one of the fittest sides in the Championship and are lethal in front of goal.  Sligo won the Junior All Ireland title last year but have struggled for consistency in the senior grade however they are expected to come through against a developing Donegal side.

Mullahoran, Cavan: Laois v Tyrone 3.30pm SUN Verdict: Laois

Tourlestrand: Sligo v Donegal 3.30pm SUN Verdict: Sligo


LAOIS: B Deegan, L Hyland, L Muckian, A Millar, A Casey, P Fogarty, A Quigley, M Casey, K O Reilly, M Kirwan, N Kirwan, T Lawlor, G O Connor, M Kirwan, E Fitzpatrick

TYRONE: E Mallaghan, E Teague, M Kelly, M Gallagher, S McGarvey, L Donnelly, N Woods, L Meehan, S Donnelly, J Donnelly, E Gormley, A Dooher, C Donnelly, G Begley, K Murphy

SLIGO: K Connolly, C Doyle, A Doohan, M Keane, T OHara, C Kennedy, L Smith, B Byrne, S McTiernan, S Rowley, M ODonnell, K Maloney, T Marren, N Gormley, L Brett

DONEGAL: AN Other, S Mollahan, N Lacey, L O’Sullivan, A Buggy, D Toner, G Houston, N Stapleton, K Lacey, J De Ward, B Gallagher, Y McMonagle, C McAteer, K Guthrie, M Devenny


A winning start in this group is essential and last year’s All Ireland beaten finalists may just have enough to squeeze past Kildare but the Lilywhites have an excellent record against Armagh and will be tough to beat at home.  If Meath can match Down’s physicality and nullify the threat of Micheala Downey the Royals should prevail and secure a win on the opening weekend

Sarsfields, Newbridge: Kildare v Armagh 3.30pm SUN Verdict: Armagh

Pairce Esler, Newry; Down v Meath 3.30pm SUN Verdict: Meath


KILDARE:C Dolan, A Holton AN Other, A Lambe, C Hogan, D Berry, M Moolick, B Leahy, N Earley, C Bergin, A Jennings, E Dillon, A McBride, S Gilabert, S Conway

ARMAGH: F McAtamney, C Marley, D Toal, O Murtagh, R OMahony, B ODonnell, S McCleary, A ODonnell, C OHanlon, M Tennyson, M Moriarty, S OHagan, M McAlinden, L Brown, A Matthews

MEATH: I Munnelly, S Dooley, J Burke, S McCormack, J Rispin, V McGinn, P Sheridan, G Nulty, C OShaughnessy, K Bowe, M Sheridan, F Mahon, C McAuley, J Shiels, K OBrien

DOWN: E Madine, A McEvoy, N McGowan, C McShane, S Fegan, A Karey, E McConville, L Cunningham, C McKibben, K Downey, G McClean, M Downey, A Pyres, L Morgan, E Mulbern

David O’Síocháin

Account Manager

Pembroke Communications

16 Sir John Rogerson’s Quay

Dublin 2

Tel: 01 6496322

Fax: 01 6496487

Mob: 0879362440

Url: www.pembrokecomms.ie

Pembroke Communications – Winner of a 2007 PRCA Award For Excellence in Public Relations

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs