Changes for Tipperary and Waterford as counties battle to avoid senior relegation

TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship (Relegation Playoff 1)

Saturday – Tipperary v Waterford, Callan, 3pm

TWO counties who have made significant progress at senior level in recent times now face a battle to avoid the drop.

Tipp, in their first year back up senior, face a Waterford team who made the step up in 2015 after winning the TG4 Intermediate crown.

It’s a massive Munster derby in Callan with plenty at stake, as the winners will guarantee themselves senior championship fare again in 2019.

For the losers, there’s a second chance, as they’ll face off against the losers of the other relegation tie this afternoon between Cavan and Monaghan.

There’s one change from the Tipperary team that lined out against Donegal last time out, as Lucy Spillane comes in for Caoimhe Condon.

Waterford boss Pat Sullivan has made two changes to the team that faced Galway in the qualifiers, with Keeley Corbett Barry and Gráinne Kenneally in ahead of Kate Hahessy and Aisling Mullaney.

Tipperary team: 

1 Lauren Fitzpatrick Ballymacarbry
2 Laura Dillon Ardfinnan
3 Maria Curley Templemore
4 Brid Condon Aherlow
5 Anna Rose Kennedy Aherlow
6 Samantha Lambert Ardfinnan
7 Siobhan Condon Aherlow
8 Aisling McCarthy Cahir
9 Orla O Dwyer Boherlahan
10 Lucy Spillane Fethard
11 Aishling Moloney Cahir
12 Niamh Lonergan Moyle Rovers
13 Roisin Howard Cahir
14 Mairead Morrissey Brian Borus
15 Gillian O Brien Moyle Rovers

Waterford team: 

1 Kelly Moroney St Pats
2 Megan Dunford Abbeyside
3 Caoimhe McGrath Abbeyside
4 Rebecca Casey Stradbally
5 Kate McGrath Kilrossanty Brickeys
6 Karen McGrath Ballymacarbry
7 Michelle McGrath Ballymacarbry
8 Emma Murray Comeragh Rangers
9 Keeley Corbett Barry Comeragh Rangers
10 Mairead Wall Ballymacarbry
11 Grainne Kenneally Eadestown
12 Katie Murray Comeragh Rangers
13 Aileen Wall Ballymacarbry
14 Maria Delahunty Abbeyside
15 Michelle Ryan Ballymacarbry

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs