Clann Na Gael crowned Roscommon Under 16 A Champions


Clann an nGael 0-16 Strokestown 0-8


Congratulations to the U16 girls who took the Division 1A Title in the county championship on Saturday evening last in Kiltoom.

Clann girls took the match to Strokestown in the first minute of the game opening the scoreline with a fine point from captain Kayleigh Dunning and a well taken free after 5 mins. Strokestown retaliated with a point after 5 mins. The Clann girls Sarah O’Sulllivan, Lola Omotosha and Aoibhinn Golden were dogged in defence, holding back a strong Strokestown forward line. Excellent sweeping from Leanne Ward, Ciara Quinn and Kayleigh Allen in defence kept the Strokestown girls under control. Further points from Rebecca Naughton and Kayleigh Dunning in this half gave Clann a tally of 7 points at half time.

Strokestown trailed with a tally of 4 points.

The Clann girls retained their hunger for victory in the second half, with the pairing of Orla O’Neill and Kayleigh Dunning dominating the midfield area, making it difficult for the opposition to get a hold on the game. Saoirse McManus opened the scoring in this half with a well taken point under pressure. The constant attack of Rebecca Naughton at centre-half forward, supported by Ashley Rose Coyle, Shauna Connell and Shauna Bannon put pressure on the Strokestown defence.

Points came from all angles in this half. Therese Lennon, Shauna Connell and Orla O’Neill putting their names on the score sheet and Rebecca Naughton and Kayleigh Dunning adding to their tally.

Strokestown were now struggling for options and a late attack saw them add three more points to the scoreboard. Orla Ward was diligent as ever in goal and made sure Strokestown did not rattle the onion bag!

Clann were deserving winners on the day with a scoreline of 0-16 to 0-8.

Team: Orla Ward, Kayleigh Allen, Sarah O’Sullivan, Aoibhinn Golden, Leanne Ward, Lola Omotosha, Ciara Quinn, Orla O’Neill (0-2), Kayleigh Dunning (0-6), Shauna Connell (0-1), Rebecca Naughton (0-5), Ashley Rose Coyle, Therese Lennon (0-1), Saoirse McManus (0-1), Shauna Bannon, Ciara Costello, Marissa Murray, Hazel Menton, Claire Murray, Lisa Dolan, Nicole Meehan, Ruth McManus, Grainne O’Neill, Renee Naughton, Valerie Oyiki, Caoimhe Lennon

Well done to the management team of Mickey Dunning and Terry O’Neill!

Sponsors: Shines Restaurant, Baylough, Athlone

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs