2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Clare 17 - 12 Waterford 2 - 6

Clare Ladies Football Board Press release

2008 Munster U-14 Championship Result & Match Report

Clare 17 – 12 Waterford 2 – 6

Venue: Ardmore, Co. Waterford
Date: Saturday, March 15th.
Time: 2.30pm

The Clare U-14 girls made the long trip to Ardmore, Co. Waterford on Saturday a wining one with a truly comprehensive victory over the Déise outfit. While nobody wishes such a comprehensive defeat on any team the score-line reflects Clare’s dominance in this game played on a magnificent sod in the south eastern sea-side resort. Clare have over the years been on the wrong end of thumping defeats so it was in a way gratifying that the U-14 Bannerettes could dish out a comprehensive beating to a disappointing opposition.Clare were on top right from the throw in and had the game in the bag after fifteen minutes and were not at all flattered by their 8 – 8 to 0 – 1 half time lead. The dimunitive Burren Gaels star Roisín Howley helped herself to 3 – 1 of Clare’s first half total with Sarah O’Keeffe (Doora-Barefield), Aisling Torpey (Liscannor), Niki Kaiser (Newmarket) and Louise Griffin (Fergus Rovers) also getting on the scoresheet.

Clare’s half back-line of Aoife Clohessey (Fergus Rovers), Clodagh Shortiss (Wolfe Tones) and Shauna Crowley (Banner Ladies) were outstanding while team captain Rebecca Culligan (Banner Ladies) and Roisín Looney (Cooraclare) had great games at midfield. Goalkeeper Eimear Hillety (Liscannor) and full-back Fiona Loughman (Burren Gaels) also had stand out games as Clare romped to victory.

With such a comprehensive lead the team management were able to introduce multiple substitutes to gain valuable match experience and among those introduced to impress were Claire O’ Brien (Wolfe Tones) and Orlaith Lynch (Banner Ladies).

The game was excellently refereed by Keith Delahunty of Tipperary and Clare’s next game is against Tipperary at a Limerick venue on Saturday next.

Clare: Eimear Hillery (Liscannor), Shauna Harvey (West Ckare Gaels), Fiona Loughman (Burren Gaels), Clodagh Lawlor (Newmarket), Aoife Clohessey (Fergus Rovers), Clodagh Shortiss (Wolfe Tones), Shaoua Crowley (Banner Ladies), Rebecca Culligan, capt. (Banner Ladies), Roisín Looney (Cooraclare), Aisling Corbett (Cloonet-Quin), Sarah O’Keeffe (Doora-Barefield), Niki Kaiser (Newmarket), Louise Griffin (Fergus Rovers), Aisling Torpey (Liscannor), Roisin Howley (Burren Gaels)

Subs: Molly Brannock (Doora-Barefield), Aisling Reidy (Coolmeen), Megan O’Sullivan (Wolfe Tones), Aoife Conway (Doonbeg), Claire O’Brien (Wolfe Tones), Ciara Houlihan (Doora-Barefield), Laura McMahon (Newmarket), Orlaith Lynch (Banner Ladies), Elaine O’Gorman (Kilmihil), Ailish Brew (West Clare Gaels).
Dr. Paul McKenna,
PRO Clare Ladies Football

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs