Clare derail Cork in Munster Championship

Clare derail Cork in Munster championship by Fr Liam Kelleher


Cork ladies Football Sponsored by Castlelands Construction.

Clare 1-15 Cork 2-10.

In 2005 Cork made a clean sweep of all the Munster titles,
under 14, u-16, Minor, Junior and Senior. The Juniors
missed out in making it another clean sweep last year.
This year following some fine wins in the Aisling McGing
memorial cup Senior B Championship over Waterford, Laois
and Dublin hopes were high that Cork could add to the
Munster crown of the Minors who made it 6 in a row last
week against the kingdom.

Those hopes were dashed in Ballincollig on Saturday last
when, the Banner Co girls proved too strong for the rebelletes.
By winning this tie by 2 points pride was restored to
Clare football following their heavy Minor loss to Cork.
Not that Clare went in as no hopers, they had a great
run last year in the Junior Championship winning the Munster
crown before bowing out narrowly in the All-Ireland Semis.
Such was Cork’s dominance in the Senior B championship
that they went into this game as firm favourites and when
they raced into a 1-1 lead through the Inch Rovers pair
Annie Walsh, a point and an Amy O’Shea a goal.

Clare showed true grit and spirit as they slowly but surely
clawed their way back through points from, Louise Henchy,
Majella Griffin and Fiona Lafferty. Five minutes from
the break they were rocked back on their heels again with
another Amy O’Shea goal, but they added on the points
to give them a well merited 0-12 to 2-4 interval lead.

Cork were expected to turn things around in the 2nd half
with wind advantage and when Sharon Whelton narrowed the
gap to the minimum in the first minute, the situation
looked ominous for Clare. Undaunted they took the game
to Cork and were rewarded when Fiona Lafferty goaled for
the defining score, of the game as far as Clare were concerned.
Cork then took over and points from Louise Crowley, Grainne
Lucey Amy O’Shea and Niamh Hickey had the teams locked
together with 10 minutes to go. Again Clare raised the
tempo and points from Majella Griffin 2 and Aine Kelly
gave them the initiative once again. Aine Sheehan got
one back for Cork, but there was no denying Clare who
held on for a well merited win.

Scorers: Cork Amy O’Shea 2 – 1, Annie Walsh 0 – 3, Niamh
Hickey 0 – 2, Louise Crowley 0 – 1, Gráinne Lucey 0 –
1, Áine Sheehan 0 – 1, Sharon Whelton 0 – 1.

Scorers: Clare Majella Griffin 0 – 7, Fiona Lafferty 1
– 3, Louise Henchy 0 – 3, Áine Kelly 0 – 2.

Cork: Martina O’Brien, Elaine Burke, Siobhán Buckley,
Máiréad Kennedy, Ann Marie Walsh, Niamh Canty, Áine Murphy,
Annie Walsh, Carly Shanahan, Louise Crowley, Áine Sheehan,
Gráinne Lucey, Sharon Whelton, Amy O’Shea, Niamh Hickey.

Cork under 14’s travel to Mullingar.

On Saturday next the Cork under 14 Class of 2007, will
pit their skills against the best under 14 teams in the
country when they take part in the under 14 All-Ireland
blitz. Cork have won 7 Munster titles on the trot since
2,000 and have won 5 All-Ireland titles. They have just
a few of last years All-wining under 14 team so they will
be going into unknown territory in their bid to retain
the under 14 blitz. Since last November they have been
going through their paces under the leadership of Charlie
McLaughlin in the School of Excellence and the remaining
players have shown huge commitment to training 2 times
a week as have their parents who have brought them to

In fact Cork will have 2 teams competing in Mullingar,
which will make it a very long day, but hopefully will
be well worth the long journey. Golf Society. The newly
formed Cork ladies Football golf society will hold their
first outing at Waterock Golf club near Midleton this
Friday at 3pm. Bag packing. On the 17th18th and 19th of
April the Cork ladies Football fund could be greatly increased,
if clubs and individuals help out at the bag packing sessions
organised at Tesco stores in Mallow, Mahon Point, Mitchelstown
and Paul St in Cork


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs