Clare give Cork the fright of their lives

Clare give Cork the fright of their lives


Match Report Munster U-16 A Championship Semi-Final

Date: July 10th Venue: Churchtown, Co. Cork.

Referee: Mike Meade (Limerick)

Clare 3 – 8 Cork 4 – 10

An outstanding Clare performance gave reigning champions Cork
the fright of their lives in this thrilling Munster U-16 A championship
semi-final played in Churchtown, Co. Cork. Cork, who are undefeated
at this level in Munster for over five years, had to call on all
their reserves of experience and indeed the in depth strength
of their panel to see off a very brave Clare challenge. Cork were
fortunate in most aspects of this game – not least in facing a
Clare side with two key players absent due to family holidays
– but also in winning the toss and having the very significant
wind advantage for the first period.

With the wind advantage Cork attacked from the outset but faced
a very gritty Clare rearguard for whom Laurie Ryan and Niamh Cavanagh
in the full back line were outstanding and goalkeeper Rebecca
Smyth also showing tremendous form. The scoring eventually opened
with a Cork point in the eight minute from Orlagh Farmer which
was followed two minutes later by another score from Claire Keohane.
A big blow to Clare came in the fourteenth minute when full forward
Ciara Sherlock had a fortuitous goal with the Clare keeper Smyth
unsighted. Sinéad O’reilly then had another point for the eventual
winners to leave them ahead 1 – 3 to no score on the quarter hour.

Niamh O’Dea then opened Clare’s account from a free on seventeen
minutes after Niamh herself had been fouled. Two minutes later
Clare were back in the match when Cooraclare’s Sinéad Moloney
buried the ball in the Cork net after being put through by O’Dea.
Unfortunately for Clare almost immediately from the kick out Cork
swept downfield and Claire Keohane netted for the Rebel side.
This score was a major blow to Clare coming as it did just when
they had hauled themselves back into contention. Cork added four
more points before the break to Clare’s one – another O’Dea free
to leave the half time score 2 – 7 to 1 – 2 in Corks favour.

Clare started the second half in determined fashion and had
points on thirty two, thirty seven and thirty eight minutes from
Niamh O’Dea, Naomi Carroll and Emer Considine to narrow the gap.
Cork replied a minute later however with another shattering blow
when Áine O’Leary cut through for a third goal which they quickly
followed up with another point. Niamh O’Dea steadied the ship
for the Clare girls with a point before Cork again netted with
an Aoife Scally effort. Clare thundered back with a goal and a
point from Emer Considine to keep on Cork’s heels. Louise Woods
and Naomi Carroll then narrowly missed goal chances before Emer
Considine and Cork’s Yvonne Cahill traded points. Cahill had another
point for Cork before Considine again netted for Clare but time
was against the Banner county side and referee Mike Meade soon
signalled full time.

Clare now progress to a Munster B Final encounter with Tipperary
or Waterford and hopefully onwards in the All Ireland B series.
Clare lost nothing in this defeat and all the team played magnificently.
In defence goalkeeper Rebecca Smyth was outstanding as were Laurie
Ryan, Niamh Cavanagh, Louise Woods and Catherine Danagher. Up
front Niamh O’Dea and Naomi Carroll did well and Emer Considine
excelled when introduced as a substitute late in the first half.

Clare: Rebecca Smyth (Cooraclare), Ciara Harvey (West Clare Gaels),
Laurie Ryan (The Banner), Niamh Cavanagh (The Banner), Louise
Woods (The Banner), Catherine Danagher (Wolfe Tones), Shonagh
Enright (The Banner), Sally Glynn (Cooraclare), Eimear O’Connor
(Coolmeen), Rachel Garry (Cooraclare), Sinéad Griffin (Miltown),
Niamh O’Dea (The Banner), Clodagh McNeilis (Fergus Rovers), Naomi
Carroll (The Banner), Sinéad Moloney (Coolmeen). Subs: Emer Considine
(Kilmihil) for Rachel Garry, Lisa Loughnane (Clooney-Quin) for
Ciara Harvey, Aoife Davoren (The Banner) for Sinéad Griffin, Rachel
Ryan (Shannon Gaels) for Aoife Davoren. Scorers: Emer Considine
2 – 3, Niamh O’Dea 0 – 4, Sinéad Moloney 1 – 0, Naomi Carroll
0 – 1.

Dr. Paul McKenna, PRO Clare Ladies Football 086 6036385


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs