Clare Ladies Board Press release

Clare Ladies Board Press release

Co. Minor Championship Group A

Cooraclare 5 – 12 The Banner Ladies 0 –

Cooraclare completely outclassed an under strength
Banner team in this one sided group match played under lights in
Coolmeen on Friday night. Led by impressive displays from Rachel
Garry, Áíne Pyne, Aifric Ó’Neill and Sally
Glynn Cooraclare dominated this game from start to finish and were
rarely troubled by a Banner side for whom Niamh Martin and Eimear
O’Connor gave good displays.

Resulting from this game The Banner will finish group A runners
up and will face Group B winners Miltown in the semi-final with
Cooraclare advancing for a semi-final meeting against Wolfe Tones
na Sionna. Defending champions Miltown will be strong favourites
to retain their title but judging by Cooraclare’s display on Friday
this championship is still very much in the melting pot.

A word of praise to Coolmeen for the excellent facilities provided
on Friday night. Despite it being the middle of November the pitch
was in excellent condition, the dressing rooms spotless and the
facility of playing under lights added to the occasion. Credit the
Coolmeen GAA club, from a very small West Clare parish for having
developed such top class facilities. Rural clubs throughout Ireland
should pay them a visit to see what can be achieved if the organisation
is right. Well done Coolmeen.

Referee: Michael Bohannon

County Senior League Final

Venue: Quilty

Date: Sunday November 12th

St. Joseph’s Miltown 2 – 12 Cooraclare 0 – 9

A large crowd attended this league final in Quilty on Sunday but
the game never really lived up to its pre match billing. Before
a ball was kicked recent county champions Cooraclare were ravaged
by injuries with influential players like Eithne Morrissey, Niamh
Chambers and Áine Pyne all sidelined through injury.

The wind in Quilty on Sunday also played a major role in proceedings
and Miltown had luck on their side when winning the toss and electing
to play with the elements in the first half. From the throw in the
St. Joseph’s ladies went on the attack and despite two early misses
they opened their account in the second minute with a well taken
Fiona Lafferty point. Over the next six minutes Miltown’s star centre
forward Aoife Healy added four points on the trot as the St. Joseph’s
ladies threatened to completely overwhelm their near neighbours.

Cooraclare persisted with a short passing possession game but all
too often the final pass went astray and this played into the Miltown
girl’s hands. Despite staunch defending by Majella Lillis, Tammy
Hehir and Aifric O’Neill Miltown continued to dominate affairs and
had further points from Michelle McCaw (2) and Aoife Healy (3) before
a slick passing movement in the twenty sixth minute saw the Miltown
full forward through on goal. Cool as you like McCaw blasted the
ball past hapless Máiréad Griffin to set Miltown really
on their way. McCaw was on hand again two minutes later to land
another point to leave the interval score 1 – 11 to 0 – 0.

From the restart and wind assisted Cooraclare launched themselves
forward in an all out effort to retrieve the game. A minute into
the half Claire Walsh had their opening score from a close in free.
However the Sky Blues were finding it difficult to score and missed
some good scorable opportunities. Further pointed frees from the
boot of Ann Marie Callinan reduced the deficit to nine points by
the halfway mark of the second half and one felt if Cooraclare could
engineer a goal at this stage then the game would be back in the
melting pot. However it was Miltown who were to get the decisive
score and a breakaway move on forty six minutes saw Diane Kelly
raise the green flag with a vital score. This was the match winner
as there was no way back for Cooraclare after this. In fairness
to the county champions they kept plugging away and had further
points from Callinan (3) and Elaine Griffin (1) while substitute
Denise Sexton added a point for Miltown. At the final whistle Miltown
were deserving winners on a 2 – 12 to 0 – 9 score line.

Following the game Clare ladies Board Chairmen James Lafferty presented
the league trophy to Miltown captain Deirdre Killeen. This win will
provide some consolation for Miltown following their shock championship
exit and they will definitely be a major force in the year ahead
given the youthful make-up of their squad.

Miltown: Catherine Shannon, Karen Egan, Lorraine Griffin, Siobhán
Lafferty, Veronica Hehir, Deirdre Killeen, Marie Lenihan, Sandra
Malone, Tara Glynn, Diane Kelly, Aoife Healy, Suzanne Murphy, Fiona
Lafferty, Michelle McCaw, Niamh Coyne.

Cooraclare: Mairéad Griffin, Majella Lillis, Louise Murrihy,
Fiona McMahon, Orla Kelly, Aifric O’Neill, Monica Lillis, Tammy
Hehir, Bernie Kelly, Noreen McGuane, Ann Marie Callinan, Patricia
Callinan, Claire Walsh, Elaine Griffin, Helen Quinn.

Referee: James Murrihy.

Clare Senior B Final

Venue: Clareabbey

Date: Sunday November 12th.

Fergus Rovers 3 – 8 Crusheen 3 – 1

Despite being shocked by two early Crusheen goals Fergus Rovers
settled down and used their in depth strength and experience to
overcome senior newcomers Crusheen in this entertaining match in
Clareabbey. Although well beaten in the finish Crusheen can take
much pride in their performances in their maiden year at senior
level. Fergus Rovers will also be happy to have some silverware
on the sideboard from a season which promised much for the Lissycasey
outfit but was disappointing for them with their early championship
exit. Still they are a team brimful of talent with players like
Áine Kelly, Lorraine Kelly, Orla Griffin and Myra Daly to
name but a few. So congratulations to the Rovers on this fine win
and well done again to Crusheen for their efforts at senior level
in 2006.

Referee: Michael Talty.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs